Isotropix Forums

Modify displacenent mode on many abc meshes in scene

Clarisse related tips and tricks

Modify displacenent mode on many abc meshes in scene

Unread postby danf » Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:49 pm

Hey folks,

I'm building our first production scene, with 16 referenced alembic caches. Materials are referenced projects using shading layers for assignment based on asset name.

Something I have been stuck on, is in a large scene, how to set abc attributes like displacement mode on many meshes at once, that are all in difference contexts. I can add meshes to a group or combiner, but selecting them doesn't seem to allow me to modify such attributes.

To go through each referenced abc context, select all meshes, set attrs, for many assets becomes frustrating quickly. Is there a better way?

My hope was for something like the shading layer system, where you use a pattern to set some override across all matching geo.

cheers,
Dan
danf
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:00 pm

Re: Modify displacenent mode on many abc meshes in scene

Unread postby bruce » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:20 pm

Hi Danf,

You can select all displacement using the f3 key and typing "disp" for example.You will be able to modify them at once !


Cheers.
Bruce
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
bruce
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:11 pm

Re: Modify displacenent mode on many abc meshes in scene

Unread postby danf » Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:38 am

Cheers Bruce, that is a nice solution.

Still it would also be good to have this more granular, i.e. what if I wanted to set all meshes in groupA to "bump only" and all meshes in groupB to "tesselation plus bump".

I'm looking at writing some python code to traverse the contexts and do this, but figure there is likely to be a built in way to do it.

cheers,
Daniel
danf
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:00 pm

Re: Modify displacenent mode on many abc meshes in scene

Unread postby daaims » Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:29 am

Hi,

You can select your groupA and click on "select inputs" in the selection menu to select all the objects in the group.

Cheers
User avatar
daaims
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:17 am


Return to Tips and Tricks