Isotropix Forums

Rendering speed with combiner

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Rendering speed with combiner

Unread postby bingopanshow » Sat May 27, 2017 2:42 am

I finished shading on one scean. Actually It is huge amount of polygons.

But 1920*1080

Anti Allasing Sample Count 64spp
Material Sample Count 64 spp

Sampling Quality 10%

render are finished after 40 seconds.


We want to render this geo sepalately. It can sepalate 5 big components.

Then I just made 5 3D render image image.

This geo is refference so I couldn't make it group or contexturize. So I just make Five combiner and put each geo to combiner.
And Layer editor, I assigne These combiner to Render layer Visiblity ( geometries/shadow/raytracing/global illumination.)

Also I apply shaded Physical Layer Material.

Once I make 5 3D render image and Apply it by Using Combiner

Rendering time get super long.
So I'm wondering how combiner are working. Is it tottaly duplicate all geometry and That's why render get long?
or If I make a lot of 3d render image. Even though I disable other 3D render layer and combiner. Still clarisse cullculate rendering?

I don't change any shading and lighting part.
I just make same geo sepalate and make 5 3D render image. Then rendering time is supor long and I can't check render quickly
eventhough It is not high quality rendering.


What I WANT TO KNOW IS

-If I make a lot of 3D render image. Clarisse culuculate it? eventhough I disable?

-Combiner are duplicate real geometry?

-How to fix it....



if someone know this issue. I need help

best
bingopanshow
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Rendering speed with combiner

Unread postby paq » Sun May 28, 2017 5:46 pm

Hello,

I'm not really sure I understand your setup, but maybe you should have a look at this video ?


If you want to split you render, you should use groups (smartgroups) to control geo visibility across the different image layers.
Combiners are more a tool to merge assets into one big object for scene layout.
User avatar
paq
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:33 am
Location: Montréal

Re: Rendering speed with combiner

Unread postby sam » Mon May 29, 2017 1:58 pm

Hi,

My main concern is that:
bingopanshow wrote:This geo is refference so I couldn't make it group or contexturize.


Why can't you create a group outside the reference ???
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 12:33 am

Re: Rendering speed with combiner

Unread postby bingopanshow » Mon May 29, 2017 11:48 pm

Hi Sam.


Thank you to send me the tutorial. It's one help to think about this issue.

Now I understand this problem is not come from combiner.

I done basic shading. In that time, there is no any problem. but

Once I apply normal map. rendering get super super slow even though render setting is lower. then I detach normal map, and "rendering is still slow".
eventhough I already detach normal map.

before apply normal map, Speed is fine. so I'm wondering what happen in system.

still clarisse calculating normal map?? After detach normal map?

and around 1 hour later, rendering speed recover suddenly. But If I touch some shading node, It's get slow again. Under this ploblem. Can't check render result.


plobably I should make new topic.

thanks.
bingopanshow
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Rendering speed with combiner

Unread postby isoyann » Mon Jun 05, 2017 10:27 am

Hi,

This is very strange.. we tried reproducing this behavior without success, the normal map doesn't change the rendering speed (at least, not noticeably).. it seems your clarisse is slowing down randomly.. are you sure nothing is running in the background? What did you do during this hour, before the speed get back to normal?

Thanks
User avatar
isoyann
 
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:11 pm


Return to General Discussion