Isotropix Forums

OCIO looks

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

OCIO looks

Unread postby colin533 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:53 pm

We are trying to get shot grades working through OCIO using the same config we are using for all our other apps (Nuke, Maya, RV, Katana etc) and are unable to get the looks to work. The default portion of the ocio config works but customization we made that work in other apps are not yet working in Clarrise. I have copied the relevant sections of the config.


ocio_profile_version: 1

search_path: luts
strictparsing: false
luma: [0.2126, 0.7152, 0.0722]

roles:
color_picking: rec709
color_timing: AlexaV3LogC
compositing_linear: linear
compositing_log: AlexaV3LogC
data: raw
default: raw
matte_paint: sRGB
reference: linear
scene_linear: linear
texture_paint: rec709

displays:
default:
- !<View> {name: rec709, colorspace: rec709}
- !<View> {name: ShotGrade_rec709, colorspace: linear, looks: shot_grade}
- !<View> {name: NoGrade_rec709, colorspace: linear, looks: no_grade}
- !<View> {name: sRGB, colorspace: sRGB}
- !<View> {name: None, colorspace: raw}

active_displays: [default]
active_views: [rec709, ShotGrade_rec709, NoGrade_rec709, Raw, Log]

(...)


looks:
- !<Look>
name: no_grade
process_space: linear
transform: !<GroupTransform>
children:
- !<ColorSpaceTransform> { src: linear, dst: lgc10}
- !<FileTransform> { src: "AlexaV3_K1S1_LogC2Video_Rec709_EE_davinci3d.cube", interpolation: linear}

- !<Look>
name: shot_grade
process_space: linear
transform: !<GroupTransform>
children:
- !<ColorSpaceTransform> { src: linear, dst: lgc10}
- !<FileTransform> { src: "/${SPIN_SHOT_GRADE_LUT}", interpolation: linear}

Both the "no_grade" and "shot_grade" show up in the viewer drop down but neither have an effect. Everything else seems to work.

Are there any special env variable we need or any other ideas or suggestions out there? Are .cube files a problem?

Thanks,

Colin
colin533
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:31 pm

Re: OCIO looks

Unread postby xilofoton » Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:27 pm

Hi,

I guess the .cube could be a problem, because in the ACES or spi-vfx and spi-anim configs - which are working well in Clarisse - I just see SPI formats like .spi1d and .spi3d, and there is no mention about .cube files in the docs.

You can convert it to the native format with this converter from Mikros:
http://opensource.mikrosimage.eu/ColorPipe-tools/LUTLab/LUT_to_LUT/

Cheers
VFX Artist
Clarisse Specialist
xilofoton
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 2:29 pm

Re: OCIO looks

Unread postby colin533 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:59 pm

Gave that a try but converting the file to a .spi3d lut made no difference.

How are people configuring per shot display luts in clarisse? Ideally via OCIO.

There is a note in the docs about 3D luts:

"It is impossible to convert from a color space defined by a 3D LUT. This brings a limitation when choosing a color space if you load an image file (using a Layer File, a Map File or a Streamed Map File).

If an image has been saved in another color space than "Linear", with the "File Color Space" attribute, Clarisse can convert it before use so it's displayed properly. The attribute tells Clarisse which color space the file is using.

Typically, if the image is stored in sRGB, you need to set the "File Color Space" attribute to "sRGB", and Clarisse will convert it from "sRGB" to its internal color space (by default "Linear").

Such a process being impossible with 3D LUTs, nothing will be done if you select one."

Not sure if it is stating that 3D luts are not supported. Are they?

Thanks,

Colin
colin533
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:31 pm


Return to General Discussion
cron