Isotropix Forums

Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Clarisse related tips and tricks

Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby seanmorgan1962 » Tue Sep 24, 2019 3:33 pm

This may be a beginner question but sometimes when I import height maps to displace my mesh I get stepping artifacts appearing, usually near the lower area of the map. Any tips for solving this would be most appreciated.

Regards.
seanmorgan1962
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:09 pm

Re: Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby dboude » Tue Sep 24, 2019 4:47 pm

Hi,

You should check "Use Raw Data" on the map file. I guess the color space is in sRGB, so you have those step in lower values. But in which format is your displacement map ?

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby seanmorgan1962 » Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:02 pm

Thanks, Démian for the very prompt reply. I created the maps in Blender and rendered them in Black and White. I was using Filmic color space. I tried both .png and .jpg files, so far. I will try using 'Use Raw Data.'

Thanks a bunch!
Sean
seanmorgan1962
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:09 pm

Re: Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby dboude » Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:25 am

Hi,

Ok, so the steps come from the lack of depth of your maps. Jpg and png handle 8bit depth maximum. (256 values). You have to use a format that allows 16/32bit like exr, tiff ...

That will remove the steps. And don't forget to check use raw data to make sure the map is evaluated in a linear color space.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby seanmorgan1962 » Wed Sep 25, 2019 10:56 am

Hi, Démian,

Thanks so very much for the info. I am grateful. :) I love this software and I am saving $ for a workstation; my rig is underpowered for CGI. Frankly, one of the best things about Clarisse is I can have trillions of polys and even my machine can handle it. I just need something that I can render on without it taking an eternity to see the results.

Thanks again.

Sean
seanmorgan1962
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:09 pm

Re: Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby dboude » Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:21 am

Glad to hear it. Hope you'll catch your new rig soon ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby seanmorgan1962 » Wed Sep 25, 2019 12:18 pm

Hey, Démian,

If I may ask another quick question. I have created some terrain models in Blender (fairly hi-poly to get detail) but when I import them into Clarisse (as .obj file) the poly-count is there but they don't appear to have the original resolution in the viewport or the final render. Any help is most appreciated.

Thanks for all your help.

Sean
seanmorgan1962
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:09 pm

Re: Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby dboude » Wed Sep 25, 2019 1:52 pm

Could you take some snapshot ? Blender/Clarisse

It seems that normals get weird.

Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby seanmorgan1962 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 2:08 am

Hi, Démian

I figured out the issue. For some reason, I guess I thought I was being clever, in Blender I had a sub/surf modifier on the model and it smoothed out all my detail (Ooops!) so I removed it. I imported it into Clarisse and it looks fine. 33 million polys. It took my rig 45 minutes to write the .obj file. :)

Hey, Démian...thanks a million for your help, bud. I regret I may need more help in the future...I sometimes feel like I'm climbing the damn mountains I am trying to build if you get my meaning. LOL. I don't give in easily.

All the best,

Sean
seanmorgan1962
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:09 pm

Re: Stepping Artifacts in my mesh when using height maps

Unread postby dboude » Thu Sep 26, 2019 8:26 am

Relax. You're welcome.

You could come at the unofficial discord server, there's plenty of nice folks ready to help you :mrgreen:

https://discord.gg/G5cJj9A

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am


Return to Tips and Tricks