Isotropix Forums

Using instances with shading layers

Clarisse related tips and tricks

Using instances with shading layers

Unread postby ruchirlives » Fri Jul 17, 2020 8:54 pm

Hi All.
I can get shading layers to work well with scatterers
But with clone 3d instancing, the cloner renames the instance of e.g. a tree object, and then the shading layer tries to evaluate the new instance name rather than the name of the source object, and so the instance doesn't get its shader.
Is this expected behaviour? How can I get instances to shade according to the underlying source when being evaluated by the shading layer?
ruchirlives
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:14 am

Re: Using instances with shading layers

Unread postby mdkai » Fri Jul 17, 2020 9:32 pm

Hi
this is why you can evaluate shading layers in different ways then object name. |
For most cases you can use the shading group name to assign shaders, which works for instances just fine.
If you have not yet looked into this video please do so as it shows all relevant things to work with shading layers.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_2kX9gFSgs

Cheers
Kai
Join us at the Discord https://discord.gg/G5cJj9A
mdkai
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm

Re: Using instances with shading layers

Unread postby ruchirlives » Fri Jul 17, 2020 11:48 pm

That’s really helpful.
Thank you!
ruchirlives
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 12:14 am


Return to Tips and Tricks