Isotropix Forums

PyQt needed even if I prefer PySide.

Clarisse Scripting related topics

PyQt needed even if I prefer PySide.

Unread postby timurhai » Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:14 pm

Hi.
To create a non-blocking Python Qt window, i need:
import pyqt_clarisse
and then:
pyqt_clarisse.exec_(App)

In a pyqt_clarisse.py we call see:
from PyQt4 import QtCore
from PyQt4 import QtGui
So i need to install PyQt4 even if i am going to use PySide only.
( In a studio we use PySide for in-house tools, we have a Python with PySide )
But for now i need to install PyQt just to make custom windows non-blocking.

Later i just replaced some lines in pyqt_clarisse.py to work PyQt or (and) PySide.
And now it works w/o PyQt4 in Python, but just with PySide:
Code: Select all
# from PyQt4 import QtCore
# from PyQt4 import QtGui
# Move import above modules in try block:
try:
    PythonQt = __import__('PySide', globals(), locals(), ['QtCore','QtGui'])
except ImportError:
    PythonQt = __import__('PyQt4', globals(), locals(), ['QtCore','QtGui'])
QtCore = PythonQt.QtCore
QtGui = PythonQt.QtGui


May be you can do something with this issue in feature releases, for example try to import PySide first.
Timur Hairulin
timurhai
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:05 am
Location: Korolev

Re: PyQt needed even if I prefer PySide.

Unread postby bvaldes » Mon Feb 13, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi,

Thank you for sharing this with the community !
We've added a feature request waiting for validation (#6471)

Cheers
Benoit VALDES
Isotropix
Clarisse QA
User avatar
bvaldes
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 11:44 am

Re: PyQt needed even if I prefer PySide.

Unread postby arnaud » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:22 pm

Hello,

This feature has been approved and added on 3.5 roadmap.
Cheers
Arnaud

Isotropix
Chief Process & Innovation Officer
User avatar
arnaud
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 3:48 pm


Return to Scripting