Isotropix Forums

Getting Clarisse main window as Qt object

Clarisse Scripting related topics

Getting Clarisse main window as Qt object

Unread postby jboissinot » Wed May 15, 2019 8:45 pm

Hi,

I'm having issues with Qt windows not being created in Clarisse. In fact, everything works fine while I'm in Clarisse. I can run a script several times and it does create its UI with a Qt window in Clarisse. But once I go to another application and then go back in Clarisse and re-run the script it creates the Qt window outside of Clarisse.

As such, I was wondering if it'd be possible to get the Clarisse main window as a Qt object so that I can set it as parent of the Qt UI window?

Thanks,
Jeremy
jboissinot
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:36 pm

Re: Getting Clarisse main window as Qt object

Unread postby bvaldes » Fri May 17, 2019 2:04 pm

Hi,

I guess this is not possible to return a QT window. Moreover, in the SDK documentation, we have a section about pyqt: https://clarissewiki.com/4.0/sdk/using_pyqt.html
That should maybe be what you are looking for.

Best regards,
Benoit VALDES
Isotropix
Clarisse QA
User avatar
bvaldes
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:44 am

Re: Getting Clarisse main window as Qt object

Unread postby Braden99 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:47 am

A QMainWindow (and basically all QtGui classes) require a Qt event loop, and Clarisse is not build as a Qt application at it's core (it has it's own internal event loop).

Therefore I think this is impossible. I really hope Clarisse one day is built using Qt, developers and artists could benefit from this greatly.
Braden99
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 3:05 am


Return to Scripting