Page 1 of 1

Getting Clarisse main window as Qt object

Unread postPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 8:45 pm
by jboissinot
Hi,

I'm having issues with Qt windows not being created in Clarisse. In fact, everything works fine while I'm in Clarisse. I can run a script several times and it does create its UI with a Qt window in Clarisse. But once I go to another application and then go back in Clarisse and re-run the script it creates the Qt window outside of Clarisse.

As such, I was wondering if it'd be possible to get the Clarisse main window as a Qt object so that I can set it as parent of the Qt UI window?

Thanks,
Jeremy

Re: Getting Clarisse main window as Qt object

Unread postPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 2:04 pm
by bvaldes
Hi,

I guess this is not possible to return a QT window. Moreover, in the SDK documentation, we have a section about pyqt: https://clarissewiki.com/4.0/sdk/using_pyqt.html
That should maybe be what you are looking for.

Best regards,

Re: Getting Clarisse main window as Qt object

Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:47 am
by Braden99
A QMainWindow (and basically all QtGui classes) require a Qt event loop, and Clarisse is not build as a Qt application at it's core (it has it's own internal event loop).

Therefore I think this is impossible. I really hope Clarisse one day is built using Qt, developers and artists could benefit from this greatly.