Isotropix Forums

Get assets from a usd in clarisse

Clarisse Scripting related topics

Get assets from a usd in clarisse

Unread postby rayvision » Tue Nov 24, 2020 5:48 am

i usr cnode.exe -info to get all the asssets in a scene,but cnode.exe dont get asstest from a usd,
i check the clarsise api, but no information about USD was found,I don't want to use the USD API of pixar, it was bloated。

so What can I do to get the assets of a usd in Clarisse?

I hope you can understand my bad English. O(∩_∩)O
thanks ! good luck!
rayvision
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:07 am

Re: Get assets from a usd in clarisse

Unread postby anemoff » Tue Nov 24, 2020 11:07 am

Hi,

The option -info will print all "direct" USD paths, but not the sub-layers that compose it. Is that what you need?
For example, if you reference or bundle Pixar's Kitchen_set.usd example file, you'll only get Kitchen_set.usd but won't get all the files used in the sub-layers (assets/Ball/Ball.usd, assets/Book/Book.usd, ...).

Let us know what you need exactly.

Cheers,
Anthony Nemoff
Isotropix
R&D Engineer
User avatar
anemoff
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:10 am

Re: Get assets from a usd in clarisse

Unread postby rayvision » Wed Nov 25, 2020 4:36 am

i need get all the files used in the sub-layers from usd in clarisse.
rayvision
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:07 am

Re: Get assets from a usd in clarisse

Unread postby dcourtois » Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:39 am

Hi,

Simply put: this is not possible right now. You could open a feature request for this. Also, you can already do that using USD's tools and/or Python API.

Regards,
Damien.
User avatar
dcourtois
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: Get assets from a usd in clarisse

Unread postby rayvision » Wed Nov 25, 2020 10:49 am

clarisse python api ?
rayvision
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:07 am

Re: Get assets from a usd in clarisse

Unread postby anemoff » Wed Nov 25, 2020 11:54 am

No, with USD Python API.
Anthony Nemoff
Isotropix
R&D Engineer
User avatar
anemoff
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:10 am

Re: Get assets from a usd in clarisse

Unread postby rayvision » Wed Nov 25, 2020 5:27 pm

I don't want to use the USD API of pixar, it was bloated,though it was simple
rayvision
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:07 am

Re: Get assets from a usd in clarisse

Unread postby anemoff » Wed Nov 25, 2020 5:40 pm

Sorry, for now, it's not possible natively with Clarisse or CNode. As Damien said, you can create a feature request.

A possible workaround is to use "cnode -info" and get all USD files, then use an external tool (for example a Python script using USD Python API), and get all the USD asset files.
Anthony Nemoff
Isotropix
R&D Engineer
User avatar
anemoff
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:10 am


Return to Scripting