Isotropix Forums

Cross sections

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Cross sections

Unread postby granado » Mon Mar 07, 2016 1:03 am

Is it possible to create cross sections with Clarisse?
...and render boolean like Modo?
granado
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 1:25 am

Re: Cross sections

Unread postby isoyann » Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:15 pm

No, currently this is not possible...
User avatar
isoyann
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:11 pm

Re: Cross sections

Unread postby granado » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:13 pm

Any trick to simulate it?
granado
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 1:25 am

Re: Cross sections

Unread postby gjennings » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:01 pm

Not that we know of.
User avatar
gjennings
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 6:53 am

Re: Cross sections

Unread postby xilofoton » Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:44 am

Image

Maybe this is what you want. I used a rectangle here to cut out this area from the wall for the door part...
So you can do pseudo boolean but without filling the gaps. Put an ambient occlusion node in the clip map slot of your object (material linker), and select your cutting object in the AO's occluders slot. Tweak the parameters till it fully eats out the geo. The result will be not perfect...

If you want to cut it simply with a plane, use gradient instead with appropiate P coordinate input.

In 3.5 there are scope objects, so it is cleaner and faster to use them for clip map and avoid AO. So actually this method is the best except if you want to use arbitrary cutting shape.
VFX Artist, Clarisse Specialist
https://scivfx.wordpress.com/
xilofoton
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 2:29 pm

Re: Cross sections

Unread postby granado » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:40 pm

Thanks!
granado
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 1:25 am


Return to General Discussion