Isotropix Forums

How to Blend Two Displacements

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

How to Blend Two Displacements

Unread postby jandersunstar » Sat Mar 10, 2018 6:09 am

Is there a way to blend two displacements like we can with two shaders?

I don't want to use the TextureBlend to blend the textures of each displacement because each displacement have different height values.

-Luis
User avatar
jandersunstar
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:21 pm
Location: Mexico City

Re: How to Blend Two Displacements

Unread postby dboude » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:07 am

Hi Luis,

You can't blend two displacement shader nodes. You can use the displacement deformers and stack them on the object. However, you don't have access to the UV with this method.

You can add multiply nodes before blending your displacement maps/network and control the values of each map/network if you have to use displacement shader node.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: How to Blend Two Displacements

Unread postby jandersunstar » Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:36 pm

Thanks Demian, I think the multiply nodes should work, thanks!
User avatar
jandersunstar
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:21 pm
Location: Mexico City

Re: How to Blend Two Displacements

Unread postby dboude » Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:47 pm

What I do usually is to plug the map with the biggest height and set the displacement value. For the example let say 8 cm.
Then I plug the other height map I want to blend with and set the displacement value to have the result I want. Let's say the displacement value is equal to X.

Then I blend the two maps, set the displacement value to the highest value (8 cm in our example) and multiply the second height map by 1 divide by 8/X.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am


Return to General Discussion
cron