Isotropix Forums

3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby GraemeVR » Wed Oct 09, 2019 6:17 am

Hi, being brand new to Clarisse I would like to know the best workflow between 3ds Max and Clarisse with regards to exporting projects.

1) Inside my 3ds Max project I have no cameras, lights or animations I want to export, I just want to export the Geometry into Clarisse so I don't need to use Alembic files? Is that correct? Is the best method to batch export my Objs (using a Max script) into separate obj files I then import into Clarisse?

2) I work in cm in Max, so once I've imported all my Geo into Clarisse I need to uniformly scale all objs to 0.01, is this correct?

3) My problem comes when I scale everything down, I cannot add any point clouds to the geometry as all my Axis for my Geo move to World Origin, and not local where I set them in Max. So when I add a point cloud it doesn't show on the geo, it shows up on 0.0.0 of the world. Anybody know where I'm going wrong?

4) Also some of my geo does not scale down properly and ends up smaller than the rest of the models and out of place? Does this mean my model is corrupted in some way as I made sure in Max all models are clean geo.

Any help would be very much appreciated.
GraemeVR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:08 pm

Re: 3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby dboude » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:53 am

Hi,

1) If you have just static objects you can use Obj yes. But alembic is way more optimized. Files are lighter, loadings are faster etc... And you won't need any script to export everything.

2) Units are just cosmetic in Clarisse, you can change them to cm if you want to have the same distances as in Max. A good test is to render a world position pass of an object in each software. If they match the scale is the same.

3) Points are created on the base geo, so if you scale the support geo you have to first parent the point cloud to the geo. It will follow the transformation.

4) I guess you have a kinematic hierarchy issue. If an object "A" inherits the transformation of an object "B" that inherits the transformation of another object, the "A" object will inherit the transformation twice.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: 3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby GraemeVR » Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:47 am

Thanks for the feedback. My problem with alembic files is if I export my max project as an .abc file and import into Clarisse it won't let me delete any models only disable them? Is that all I need to do is disable? Do you suggest when dealing with large projects to rather use alembic files? Also do you have any tips on importing speedtree trees. I don't have the apeedtree engine for Clarisse so just import the objs but they scale differently to my max models inside Clarisse. Anything in speedtree I should do? Thanks for the help.
GraemeVR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:08 pm

Re: 3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby dboude » Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:54 am

You can CTRL + D on alembic objects to disable them. Yes, alembic is better than Obj in many ways.

No particular tips to import speed tree object. I use alembic personally.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: 3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby GraemeVR » Wed Oct 09, 2019 2:47 pm

HI, thanks again for the help.

In 4) I guess you have a kinematic hierarchy issue. If an object "A" inherits the transformation of an object "B" that inherits the transformation of another object, the "A" object will inherit the transformation twice.

Any idea on how I can fix this in Max? I''ve reset xform and centered the pivot to each object.
GraemeVR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:08 pm

Re: 3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby dboude » Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:09 pm

Don't do groups, so objects will be parented to the world. You must have all the objects at the root level of the outliner.
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: 3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby GraemeVR » Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:55 pm

Will do. Thanks, very much appreciated
GraemeVR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:08 pm

Re: 3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby GraemeVR » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:23 pm

Hi,

I am now having issues with the Scatterer. So I transform my geo. I parent the Point cloud to my Geo, then I add a scatterer. In the Scatterer menu I add the point cloud to the Geometry support and then add the geo that I want scattering. The scatter does not scatter on the point cloud/Geo. I tried changing the scatterers parent to point cloud but nothing changed. I tried changing the scatterer parent to Geo Im scattering on, but nothing. Do you know where Im going wrong? Thanks.
GraemeVR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:08 pm

Re: 3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby dboude » Thu Oct 10, 2019 12:50 pm

Hard to say. I never encountered issues with scatterer. Could you send me your setup please?
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: 3ds max - Clarisse Worflow

Unread postby GraemeVR » Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:13 pm

Seems to be working now. Thanks.
GraemeVR
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:08 pm

Next

Return to General Discussion