Isotropix Forums

change stream texture cache in linux

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

change stream texture cache in linux

Unread postby software » Wed Jun 16, 2021 2:30 am

Hi,
I'd like to change the stream texture cache through the linux command line to 32GB. In Windows it would populate the entire config after opening Preferences for the first time. How can I change just this setting in Linux? It doesn't look like there is a config with any values at all. Thanks.
Attachments
preferences.png
software
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:30 pm

Re: change stream texture cache in linux

Unread postby sam » Thu Jun 17, 2021 9:46 pm

Hi there,

Could you explain what you are looking for? Clarisse runs the same on linux so we don't understand what you mean. Are you talking about CNode? If so, please look at CNode documentation, there are many arguments to specify arguments from the command line. However we recommend to specify the config file from the command line using -config_file. And yes you can use a Windows generated config file on linux.
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: change stream texture cache in linux

Unread postby software » Fri Jun 18, 2021 12:28 am

On a windows machine I changed that value in Preferences and clarisse.cfg filled in all options with their default values.

How do I populate the clarisse.cfg file so that I can change that one value in linux without GUI?
software
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:30 pm

Re: change stream texture cache in linux

Unread postby software » Fri Jun 18, 2021 12:58 am

Just to clarify will this work as my clarisse.cfg or do I need every setting?

ilise_path ""
floating_license yes

stream_texture_cache 32768
software
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:30 pm

Re: change stream texture cache in linux

Unread postby sam » Fri Jun 18, 2021 6:01 am

You can use a customized clarisse.cfg that you setup in Clarisse GUI and then override/pass specific arguments from the command line on CNode.

We always recommend to point to a valid clarisse.cfg (that can be generated on Windows).
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: change stream texture cache in linux

Unread postby software » Fri Jun 18, 2021 6:32 pm

When I copied the Windows config file it threw errors in Linux because some of the default values are Windows folder paths. How do I avoid these?
software
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:30 pm

Re: change stream texture cache in linux

Unread postby sam » Fri Jun 18, 2021 6:33 pm

Using environment variables only unfortunately. Or edit the file using a text editor.
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: change stream texture cache in linux

Unread postby software » Mon Jun 21, 2021 5:59 pm

When you say environment variables do you mean a cnode flag of -texture_cache 32768?

Is there a clarisse.cfg file for linux with default values that you can post?
software
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:30 pm

Re: change stream texture cache in linux

Unread postby sam » Mon Jun 21, 2021 7:22 pm

no I meant using environment variables in your config files like when specifying path to OCIO configs. For example $MY_OCIIO_CONFIG_PATH where the variable is defined outside clarisse in the shell environment.

Either case, you should be able to use a config file made on windows. What's the problem of using the config file created on Windows? Can you elaborate?
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm


Return to General Discussion