Isotropix Forums

Visual difference. Adaptive sampling/non adaptive

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Visual difference. Adaptive sampling/non adaptive

Unread postby Shamanek » Fri Jun 18, 2021 7:55 am

Hi guys,

when I set up the sampling to 24 samples vs the adaptive sampling where the set up is 2-24 samples, the resulting image is different.

I want to ask what is the difference between the two methods so the resulting image looks different.
Why it looks different? Is the adaptive sampling faster with a price of worse result?
Attachments
adaptive.png
Adaptive sampling
non_adaptive.png
No Adaptive sampling
Shamanek
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:20 am

Re: Visual difference. Adaptive sampling/non adaptive

Unread postby aaute » Fri Jun 18, 2021 2:37 pm

Hi,

I try to reproduce your problem but in my case I don't have any look difference (just noise difference due to different sampling)

Image

Image

Which version of Clarisse are you using ?
On my side I did the test on Clarisse 5 Sp 1

Cheers
Aymeric
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
aaute
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 11:59 am

Re: Visual difference. Adaptive sampling/non adaptive

Unread postby Shamanek » Tue Jun 22, 2021 9:01 pm

aaute wrote:Hi,

I try to reproduce your problem but in my case I don't have any look difference (just noise difference due to different sampling)

Image

Image

Which version of Clarisse are you using ?
On my side I did the test on Clarisse 5 Sp 1

Cheers


Sorry for the late reply I didn't expect your answer that soon.
This always happens to me when I render smokes. I have smokes from Houdini.

I did a simple scene from scratch and it is happening as well.
You can try it here with the smoke as well: https://www.dropbox.com/s/z5exv7d5tbj5h ... X.rar?dl=0

version is the same Clarisse 5 SP1
Attachments
non_adaptive_sampling.jpg
non adaptive
adaptive_sampling.jpg
adaptive
Shamanek
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:20 am

Re: Visual difference. Adaptive sampling/non adaptive

Unread postby gdoublet » Mon Jul 19, 2021 3:48 pm

Hi,

I've taken a look at your scene and the difference between the two images are due to the quality mode of the volume in VOLUME>SAMPLING
by default it's based on the distance, if you set it in "Constant" you'll have the same result with adaptive as in fixed sampling.
User avatar
gdoublet
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 2:24 pm


Return to General Discussion