Isotropix Forums

render time on large scale

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

render time on large scale

Unread postby dp_mg42 » Wed Jun 09, 2021 3:16 am

hi everyone
i create scene and i want to know how can reduce render time? this scene take about 11.5hrs in my pc. i create 3 render layer and each one have different raytacer setting.
geo count: 19.786 million
primitive count: 52.155 billion
pc config:
CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3950X (Matisse, MTS-B0)
3500 MHz (35.00x100.0) @ 4067 MHz (40.75x99.8)
Motherboard: GIGABYTE X570 AORUS ELITE
Memory: 65536 MBytes @ 1330 MHz, 20-19-19-43
- 32768 MB PC21300 DDR4
- 32768 MB PC21300 DDR4
Graphics: GIGABYTE AORUS RTX 3070 Master (GV-N3070AORUS M-8GD)
OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Professional (x64) Build 19042.985 (20H2)
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
dp_mg42
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:08 pm

Re: render time on large scale

Unread postby sam » Wed Jun 09, 2021 6:31 am

Hello,

11.5 hours is crazy long render times especially from what I'm seeing. BTW what's the output resolution?
The detail you posted are not enough to get an idea of why it is slow. Looked at your scene I think you did something wrong in the lights or materials. Did you try the basics to troubleshoot:
- Set a diffuse material as override to the different layer 3D
- Disable all lights and replace by a simple distant light to see if lights are the culprits
- Do you use stream map file in which case, what's the texture cache resolution settings
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: render time on large scale

Unread postby dp_mg42 » Wed Jun 09, 2021 9:19 pm

I'm proud to talk to you.
about render size, i use 4k size.
this scene have 1 environment light and 1 ibl.
both have same setting: sample count: 1024 spp
sampling res:2048/1024
stream texture cache: 4gb(default)
i think clarisse 5 more powerful but seems more crash!!!
i try open this scene, about 10 times and first stop loading scene and disable scatters but finally get crash.
I really do not know what I did not do right that happened!!!
-------------------------------------------
In summary
3 plane for generate terrain
3 scatter for clouds
1 plane for water
1 volume box
6 scatter for vegetation.
use megascane assets.
------------------------------------
Application Command Line:
`C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\clarisse.exe -flavor ifx`

Environment Variables:
- PATH=`C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Intel\Shared Libraries\redist\intel64\compiler;C:\Python27\;C:\Python27\Scripts;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Windows\System32\OpenSSH\;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA NvDLISR;C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\Scripts\;C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\;C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python39\Scripts\;C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python39\;C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;`
- PYTHONHOME=`C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37`
- PYTHONPATH=`C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\Lib;C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\DLLs;C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\python3`
- OCIO=
- IX_PYTHON2HOME=`C:\Python27`
- IX_PYTHON2PATH=`C:\Python27\Lib;C:\Python27\DLLs;C:\Python27\Lib\lib-tk`
- IX_PYTHON3HOME=`C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37`
- IX_PYTHON3PATH=`C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\Lib;C:\Users\titan\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python37\DLLs`

Crash Call Stack: taken from crash file `C:\Users\titan\clarisse.crash`.
```
Program received signal "SIGABRT" (22).
Memory statistics: Used = 19444 MiB, Peak = 23374 MiB, Free = 40599 MiB
# 0 0x7FFB25301881 raise (0x7FFB25301881:0x7FFB253016A0+0x1E1) in C:\Windows\System32\ucrtbase.dll (0x7FFB25290000)
# 1 0x7FFB25302851 abort (0x7FFB25302851:0x7FFB25302820+0x31) in C:\Windows\System32\ucrtbase.dll (0x7FFB25290000)
# 2 0x7FFB25301F9F terminate (0x7FFB25301F9F:0x7FFB25301F80+0x1F) in C:\Windows\System32\ucrtbase.dll (0x7FFB25290000)
# 3 0x7FF65BBBA677 Attempt to access invalid address. (0xCA677) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\clarisse.exe (0x7FF65BAF0000)
# 4 0x7FFB2554B887 UnhandledExceptionFilter (0x7FFB2554B887:0x7FFB2554B6A0+0x1E7) in C:\Windows\System32\KERNELBASE.dll (0x7FFB25440000)
# 5 0x7FFB277B5270 memset (0x7FFB277B5270:0x7FFB277B3EC0+0x13B0) in C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x7FFB27710000)
# 6 0x7FFB2779C776 _C_specific_handler (0x7FFB2779C776:0x7FFB2779C6E0+0x96) in C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x7FFB27710000)
# 7 0x7FFB277B217F _chkstk (0x7FFB277B217F:0x7FFB277B2060+0x11F) in C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x7FFB27710000)
# 8 0x7FFB27761454 RtlRaiseException (0x7FFB27761454:0x7FFB27761020+0x434) in C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x7FFB27710000)
# 9 0x7FFB277611A5 RtlRaiseException (0x7FFB277611A5:0x7FFB27761020+0x185) in C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x7FFB27710000)
# 10 0x7FFB25474B89 RaiseException (0x7FFB25474B89:0x7FFB25474B20+0x69) in C:\Windows\System32\KERNELBASE.dll (0x7FFB25440000)
# 11 0x7FFB0A086480 CxxThrowException (0x7FFB0A086480:0x7FFB0A0863F0+0x90) in C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\VCRUNTIME140.dll (0x7FFB0A080000)
# 12 0x7FFAC14D295F OptixTreeData::operator= (0x7FFAC14D295F:0x7FFAC14D1E80+0xADF) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_optix_objects.dll (0x7FFAC14A0000)
# 13 0x7FFAC14DDB7B OptixObjectHelpers::load_object_to_gpu (0x7FFAC14DDB7B:0x7FFAC14DCEC0+0xCBB) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_optix_objects.dll (0x7FFAC14A0000)
# 14 0x7FFAC14E2073 OptixFurData::intern_constructor (0x7FFAC14E2073:0x7FFAC14E1880+0x7F3) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_optix_objects.dll (0x7FFAC14A0000)
# 15 0x7FFAC14DE9BD OptixMeshData::OptixMeshData (0x7FFAC14DE9BD:0x7FFAC14DE780+0x23D) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_optix_objects.dll (0x7FFAC14A0000)
# 16 0x7FFAC14D52E3 OptixClarisseResource::create_optix_polymesh (0x7FFAC14D52E3:0x7FFAC14D51E0+0x103) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_optix_objects.dll (0x7FFAC14A0000)
# 17 0x7FFAD7BA7373 ModuleObject::get_resource (0x7FFAD7BA7373:0x7FFAD7BA71B0+0x1C3) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_module.dll (0x7FFAD7A00000)
# 18 0x7FFAC14D5B2F OptixClarisseResource::get_resource_optix_mesh_data (0x7FFAC14D5B2F:0x7FFAC14D5840+0x2EF) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_optix_objects.dll (0x7FFAC14A0000)
# 19 0x7FFAC14DC8F0 OptixObjectHelpers::add_object_geometry (0x7FFAC14DC8F0:0x7FFAC14DC5C0+0x330) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_optix_objects.dll (0x7FFAC14A0000)
# 20 0x7FFAC14DCF08 OptixObjectHelpers::load_object_to_gpu (0x7FFAC14DCF08:0x7FFAC14DCEC0+0x48) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_optix_objects.dll (0x7FFAC14A0000)
# 21 0x7FFAC2CDF904 on_register_module (0x7FFAC2CDF904:0x7FFAC2CB3CA0+0x2BC64) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\module\widget_3d_view.dll (0x7FFAC2BE0000)
# 22 0x7FFAC2CDE37C on_register_module (0x7FFAC2CDE37C:0x7FFAC2CB3CA0+0x2A6DC) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\module\widget_3d_view.dll (0x7FFAC2BE0000)
# 23 0x7FFAC2CDFF49 on_register_module (0x7FFAC2CDFF49:0x7FFAC2CB3CA0+0x2C2A9) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\module\widget_3d_view.dll (0x7FFAC2BE0000)
# 24 0x7FFAC2C782AF Attempt to access invalid address. (0x982AF) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\module\widget_3d_view.dll (0x7FFAC2BE0000)
# 25 0x7FFADBA8CE35 AppEvalManager::continue_evaluation (0x7FFADBA8CE35:0x7FFADBA8CD50+0xE5) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_app.dll (0x7FFADB940000)
# 26 0x7FFAEDE8628B SysThreadTaskManager::process_task (0x7FFAEDE8628B:0x7FFAEDE86250+0x3B) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_sys.dll (0x7FFAEDE70000)
# 27 0x7FFAEDE82D57 SysThreadManager::process_first_task (0x7FFAEDE82D57:0x7FFAEDE82940+0x417) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_sys.dll (0x7FFAEDE70000)
# 28 0x7FFAEDE81A48 SysThreadManager::destroy_workers (0x7FFAEDE81A48:0x7FFAEDE81830+0x218) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_sys.dll (0x7FFAEDE70000)
# 29 0x7FFAEDE7F756 SysThread::destroy (0x7FFAEDE7F756:0x7FFAEDE7F730+0x26) in C:\Program Files\Isotropix\Clarisse 5.0\Clarisse\ix_sys.dll (0x7FFAEDE70000)
# 30 0x7FFB252B1BB2 configthreadlocale (0x7FFB252B1BB2:0x7FFB252B1B20+0x92) in C:\Windows\System32\ucrtbase.dll (0x7FFB25290000)
# 31 0x7FFB26937034 BaseThreadInitThunk (0x7FFB26937034:0x7FFB26937020+0x14) in C:\Windows\System32\KERNEL32.DLL (0x7FFB26920000)
# 32 0x7FFB27762651 RtlUserThreadStart (0x7FFB27762651:0x7FFB27762630+0x21) in C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll (0x7FFB27710000)
```
dp_mg42
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:08 pm

Re: render time on large scale

Unread postby RayCaster » Thu Jul 01, 2021 10:51 am

Would love to see the render, could you explain some of the settings you have chosen,
I've never used the importance sampling so wouldnt know if those values are the cause of the time, or 3 layers @ 4k
On the AO layer you have 1 diffuse but no total rays, is that normal?
on the geo layer why is total set to 6 but the others 2
on the volume layer you have 6 total and zero in the other slots, this layer maybe taking the most time,
how would it be with 1 in diffuse, 1 in vol, and 1 in total?
and maybe vol samp multi set to x1 (and 1 in the diffuse too)
Not sure if this helps or will give you the results you want but I think it's what i'd try.
Also we have seen amazing night renders with very low samples, maybe you dont need 16 for day time?
but as I say I've not used importance sampling, and those settings on 16 look greyed out,
so not sure if they are in use, or can be changed.
Also never used SSS so maybe that's adding to the time also.
RayCaster
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: render time on large scale

Unread postby machieb » Mon Jul 05, 2021 11:18 am

Hi, you have weird settings.
Why do you set the Sampling Multipiers to 0 in the ao und vol path_tracer settings?
Why is your material sample count so low?
But the settings, why your render takes so long is, the subsample quality at 10% but primarily the shading oversampling set to 20%!
With shading oversampling you should be very carefull! See the Clarisse manual for that.

Greetings
machieb
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:20 am

Re: render time on large scale

Unread postby dp_mg42 » Sat Jul 17, 2021 1:04 pm

thank you @machieb & @machieb.
finally i render this project in 3 layer.
master layer take about 8 hours and 51 minutes.
volumetric layer take about 3 hours and 34 minutes.
ao and wire layer take about 36 minutes.
RayCaster wrote:Would love to see the render, could you explain some of the settings you have chosen,
I've never used the importance sampling so wouldnt know if those values are the cause of the time, or 3 layers @ 4k
On the AO layer you have 1 diffuse but no total rays, is that normal?
on the geo layer why is total set to 6 but the others 2
on the volume layer you have 6 total and zero in the other slots, this layer maybe taking the most time,
how would it be with 1 in diffuse, 1 in vol, and 1 in total?
and maybe vol samp multi set to x1 (and 1 in the diffuse too)
Not sure if this helps or will give you the results you want but I think it's what i'd try.
Also we have seen amazing night renders with very low samples, maybe you dont need 16 for day time?
but as I say I've not used importance sampling, and those settings on 16 look greyed out,
so not sure if they are in use, or can be changed.
Also never used SSS so maybe that's adding to the time also.

about ao layer yes i have a mistake i should set total to 1.
about geo layer i do not change default setting.
about volume layer yes i have a mistake again, total must set to 0.
machieb wrote:Hi, you have weird settings.
Why do you set the Sampling Multipiers to 0 in the ao und vol path_tracer settings?
Why is your material sample count so low?
But the settings, why your render takes so long is, the subsample quality at 10% but primarily the shading oversampling set to 20%!
With shading oversampling you should be very carefull! See the Clarisse manual for that.

Greetings

in vol layer and ao layer set multiplier zero because do not need to calculate, only need calculate volumetric and ao in this two layers.
if i change material sample counts render time take more than 12 hours.
i use shading oversample to Compensate low material sample counts.

Thank you two nobles.
you can see more pictures on my artstation account:https://www.artstation.com/rahbari
Image
dp_mg42
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:08 pm

Re: render time on large scale

Unread postby RayCaster » Tue Jul 20, 2021 11:21 pm

Looks Good to me, but you say "about geo layer i do not change default setting." I still think there is a reason to change from default, do you have SSS on with these cacti?
RayCaster
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:02 pm


Return to General Discussion