Isotropix Forums

Reference/resource resync vs. reload etc. - heeelp :)

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Reference/resource resync vs. reload etc. - heeelp :)

Unread postby atnreg » Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:10 pm

Hi!

Could someone please explain in details how those different methods work?

I have quite huge scene that uses referenced projects and if I make significant changes in referenced projects the Reload of that reference does the thing.
BUT if I only change the geometry of the external object, it seems that the only way to get it updated in Clarisse is to use File/Resync resources which in this case takes really long time (several minutes) and I need to do that every time I change the external object.

I find it hard to believe there is no way do to that i.e. to resync only one or some resources.
The Resource view allows to reLOAD resource(s) but it has no effect on that situation.

So please explain what are the differences between resync and reload in different places (File/Reload resources never has any effect and it seems Clarisse does not even try to do anything. Same applies to Resource view Reload :o) and what I should do if I only change some geometry object outside Clarisse and want to update the object in Clarisse with least possible unnecessary updating :)

Thank you!

Antti
Antti
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990wx (32c/64t),64GB RAM,NVIDIA GTX 1080ti,Win10
Clarisse 4.0(always latest SP),Houdini,Blender,ZBrush,Fusion360,Onyx...
Started: Clarisse 2016/10 (Py 2017/01), Python 2016/11
No business, just fun :)
atnreg
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:20 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Reference/resource resync vs. reload etc. - heeelp :)

Unread postby dboude » Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:45 pm

Hi Antti,

"Reload Resources" from the file menu is based on timestamps, so it reloads only the files that have been changed. If nothing happens even if you changed some files then it's a bug.

"Resync Resources" reload all the files, that's why it takes longer in your case.

"Reload/Reload All Resources" from the resources view widget don't work. I made an entry in our bug tracker (ID#7529).

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Reference/resource resync vs. reload etc. - heeelp :)

Unread postby atnreg » Mon Oct 09, 2017 1:20 pm

Hi!
Ok thanks, so in the resource view widget it should be possible to reload individual resources? That's great, please fix it soon, I'm surprised it has not occurred yet as it is essential in larger projects :)

Thank you for the explanation, so I was thinking right, it is bug :D But indeed I have never got the Reload Resources to do anything so maybe there is bug too ;)

Antti
Antti
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990wx (32c/64t),64GB RAM,NVIDIA GTX 1080ti,Win10
Clarisse 4.0(always latest SP),Houdini,Blender,ZBrush,Fusion360,Onyx...
Started: Clarisse 2016/10 (Py 2017/01), Python 2016/11
No business, just fun :)
atnreg
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:20 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland


Return to General Discussion
cron