Isotropix Forums

Cryptomatte

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Cryptomatte

Unread postby FilipO » Wed Mar 14, 2018 4:20 pm

Cant get cryptomatte in Nuke to work with Psyop Cryptomatte gizmo, cant select anything in Layer Selections, and I know there are cryptomattes rendered in the EXR.

cryptomatte.png
cryptomatte.png (28.97 KiB) Viewed 4125 times
FilipO
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 3:01 pm

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby dboude » Thu Mar 15, 2018 10:15 am

Hi,

It seems that you have the wrong crypto matte plugin or perhaps the installation failed.
Which version of Nuke are you using?

The properties should look like that :
cryptomatte.png


Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby thomasdyg » Sat Mar 24, 2018 8:35 am

My cryptomatte ui looks the same as FillipO’s, and I’m using the latest version of the gizmo.
When you set up the cryptomatte render in clarisse remember to add the aov’s via the sub pixel filter in the layer attribute, not through the aov widget.
In Nuke you should see a false colour render similar to Dėmian’s. if you do then command/CTRL click - no alt/option - to select the matte you want in the viewer.
Cheers,
Thomas
thomasdyg
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 5:49 pm

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby frankjonen » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:34 am

Apparently this bug hasn't been fixed. With 3.6v7 I'm still getting the UI error FillipO was getting. The channels are all present, just something isn't reaching the plugin. The sample files that come with the Nuke Gizmos all work. The Clarisse render was setup according to spec within the subpixel filter.
frankjonen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:29 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby frankjonen » Fri Dec 28, 2018 1:25 pm

After some work I found out Clarrise isn't adhering to the Cryptomatte spec, which likely causes the error.

The first unnumbered item is supposed to be RGB, Clarisse writes it as RGBA, also it's deprecated.
Clarrise uses underscores in the naming, likely causes errors as well.

Renaming all cryptomatte elements from 'cryptomatte_object' to 'uCryptoObject' resulted in the cryptomatte showing up, but that was it. It's not useable as the layer selection doesn't do anything, it remains empty.
frankjonen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:29 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby dboude » Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:57 am

Hi,

I tried with the last version of Cryptomatte and all works fine. In a project I added the Cryptomatte filter to a layer, render it and save the image. Then imported the image in nuke, created the Cryptomatte gizmo and connected it to the image. Then I was able to pick mattes to create my mask.

cryptomatte_1.2.3.png


I did nothing extra to make it work...

Something should be wrong on your system. On which platform are you and which version of Clarisse/Nuke/Cryptomatte are you using?

Cheers ;)

PS : You can't access layer selection in the Cryptomatte gizmo before connecting it to the image reader.
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby rucish » Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:46 am

Had same issue with crypto. Its because its missing full metadata. In cyrptomatte options set it to AOVs and Manifest.

D
rucish
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:06 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby dboude » Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:26 am

Hi there,

It's still weird. I used cryptomatte last week and I did not write the manifest at all...

Could you send us an image that doesn't work without manifest please ?

Thanks
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby rucish » Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:36 am

dboude wrote:Hi there,

It's still weird. I used cryptomatte last week and I did not write the manifest at all...

Could you send us an image that doesn't work without manifest please ?

Thanks



material crypto rendered with manifest on and off. Nuke crypto version 1.2.5
Thanks
D
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/b42hs0ilhu0o ... 3rtwa?dl=0
rucish
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:06 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby rucish » Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:20 am

dboude wrote:Hi there,

It's still weird. I used cryptomatte last week and I did not write the manifest at all...

Could you send us an image that doesn't work without manifest please ?

Thanks


Might be nuke cryptomatte issues.
rucish
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:06 am

Next

Return to General Discussion
cron