Isotropix Forums

Importing primitives and replacing them with lights

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Re: Importing primitives and replacing them with lights

Unread postby dboude » Fri May 04, 2018 10:14 am

Hi,

All the pivots of the bulbs are wrong. That's why it doesn't work.

Make sure you move the objects in maya and not the vertices.

Cheers !
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Importing primitives and replacing them with lights

Unread postby adamkuczek » Fri May 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Hi,

I always move objects and all the pivots are correct in my Maya scene. It's after I import .abc into Clarisse that pivots are wrong and usually all are in the 0,0,0 point. Seems I can fix it by going to 'Animate > Center Pivot to BBox' unless there is some setting in Clarisse that would prevent it from resetting the pivots.

EDIT: actually it doesn't help either, pivots get fixed but lights still all appear in 0,0,0
www.ak-art.net
adamkuczek
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 4:10 am
Location: Cracow, Poland

Re: Importing primitives and replacing them with lights

Unread postby dboude » Fri May 04, 2018 2:02 pm

By setting the pivot mode of an object to Use attributes you're able to see the original pivot of an object from an Alembic file.

In your file, the bulbs have some weird transforms as if you didn't freeze transform your objects in Maya...

freeze_transform.PNG


Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Importing primitives and replacing them with lights

Unread postby adamkuczek » Fri May 04, 2018 2:23 pm

I did the test with freezing all transformations in Maya and the results are the same - after importing, Clarisse puts all pivots in 0,0,0. I checked the Use Attributes and it does show strange values even though in Maya all transformations are frozen, pivots centered to spheres and history cleared.
Last edited by adamkuczek on Fri May 04, 2018 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
www.ak-art.net
adamkuczek
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 4:10 am
Location: Cracow, Poland

Re: Importing primitives and replacing them with lights

Unread postby dboude » Fri May 04, 2018 2:31 pm

An override pivot is created for each object when importing an Alembic file. If you want to view the real one you have to set the Pivot mode to Use attributes. If you do that on the bulbs you will see that the pivots aren't in the right place.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Importing primitives and replacing them with lights

Unread postby adamkuczek » Fri May 04, 2018 2:36 pm

So, what else to do in Maya? I centered all pivots, froze transformations and cleared all history. Still, they are wrong in Clarisse..

EDIT: OK, I might have finally found a solution. 'Freezing transformation' doesn't work. But I used 'Bake Pivot' in Maya, which seems to reset Local Rotate Pivot and Local Scale Pivot (while leaving Translate) and this seem to work - after bringing spheres into Clarisse, lights finally show up where they suppose to. Fingers crossed :)
www.ak-art.net
adamkuczek
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 4:10 am
Location: Cracow, Poland

Re: Importing primitives and replacing them with lights

Unread postby gjennings » Mon May 07, 2018 9:52 am

Glad it worked!

Greg
User avatar
gjennings
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 5:53 am

Previous

Return to General Discussion