Isotropix Forums

Mouse select malfunctioning in 3dview.

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Mouse select malfunctioning in 3dview.

Unread postby ryder » Wed Aug 22, 2018 10:21 am

Hi guys, So I don't know if it's me tripping after an 8-hour straight Clarisse session, or some key I touched while I'm working, but now I couldn't select anything in 3dview no matter if click or box-drag a selection or nothing...Browser selection still works fine though.

Whats weird is, any other project file I have don't have this issue and if I start a new scene the problem also disappears. any idea guys? my project became so huuuuge now I don't want to lose that work :cry:

thanks, guys.
ryder
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:08 am

Re: Mouse select malfunctioning in 3dview.

Unread postby esmith » Wed Aug 22, 2018 6:13 pm

Without seeing your scene it's hard to tell. But sometimes when you have a huge object that your "inside" like say an Atmosphere Volume Box....when you drag select it will always select that. When that object is big enough, maybe you can't even tell what's selected. I have had selection issues from time to time, but usually it's things like this that are the cause. Trying to select geometry through a VDB cloud, or trying to select a VDB cloud over the top of geometry.

Because big scenes can become complex like this, I often make a Group at the root scene level, that's in an always locked panel called "SceneVis" where I can turn things on and off. I use it like a "layer" panel or something...turn off all VDBs...turn on all small buildings..it's a nice workflow for complex scenes
User avatar
esmith
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 4:11 pm

Re: Mouse select malfunctioning in 3dview.

Unread postby dboude » Mon Aug 27, 2018 1:11 pm

Hi,

Perhaps you deactivated selection filters by accident.

selection_filters.jpg
selection_filters.jpg (55.83 KiB) Viewed 2541 times


Or maybe the Display Pickable attribute is off on your objects.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Mouse select malfunctioning in 3dview.

Unread postby ryder » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:09 am

sorry for the late reply Eric, I initially thought the same thing but selection in image view also is working fine, I ended up copy-paste a lot to migrate my setup to a new project. and it's crazy i don't even know clarisse have a selection filter till i see Démian's post :D , THAT might actually BE IT!

time to finally read the manual i guess..
ryder
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:08 am

Re: Mouse select malfunctioning in 3dview.

Unread postby jandersunstar » Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:11 pm

I also didn't know about the selection filter. Thanks for the tip Demian!

-Luis
User avatar
jandersunstar
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:21 pm
Location: Mexico City

Re: Mouse select malfunctioning in 3dview.

Unread postby dboude » Wed Aug 29, 2018 8:35 am

You're welcome guys ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am


Return to General Discussion