Isotropix Forums

The problem of hair import

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

The problem of hair import

Unread postby Renesmee » Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:46 am

We have a problem when we import hairs into Clarisse ifx. The time for exporting is too long and the memory is too large. Do you have any optimizational method? For example, what form to use? Is there any good way to optimize the exporting cache and hairs? We noticed there is the "War of the Planet of the Apes" on your website. Lots of animal hairs of it should be a too large memory. How did you to solve this problem? Could you please tell me more information about what program you are using for hair and the procedure?
Renesmee
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:39 am

Re: The problem of hair import

Unread postby dboude » Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:47 am

Hi,

Renesmee wrote:We have a problem when we import hairs into Clarisse ifx. The time for exporting is too long and the memory is too large...


Do you have a problem with Importing hair in Clarisse or Exporting hair from another software?

Which software/plug-in do you use for grooming? There are several ways to get hairs in Clarisse.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: The problem of hair import

Unread postby mdkai » Mon Nov 26, 2018 10:05 am

Basically two options:

1. Use an alembic cache with guides to bring into clarisse , the using the hair interpolation node to scatter hair and using the guide as input.

This is a very quick method and you can control the amount of hair inside clarisse.
However the downside of this is it's not so great for bringing in very specific and finished grooms.

2. Using yeti plugin
Yeti got a clarisse plugin to read in the caches it is using. This way you get a very detailed setup, same you would render native in yeti/Maya
mdkai
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm

Re: The problem of hair import

Unread postby Renesmee » Wed Jan 23, 2019 6:20 am

Thank you for the answers。

I use Blender to make hair, but the cache of hair is too large and it takes a long time. If the files are exported by Yeti could be optimized for this, I’d like to using Yeti to make hair. Until using it, I'd like to consult with you some questions as follows:

1. The ".fur" cache is compared to the Alembic cache for the same hair, will it optimize the cache capacity and export time? What extent can it be optimized? Could you provide detailed comparison information for us?

2. Is the Yeti plugin for Clarisse free? How can I get it?

For some reason,sorry to reply you so late

I hope I can get your reply as soon as possible.Thank you!!
Renesmee
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:39 am

Re: The problem of hair import

Unread postby Kramon » Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:09 pm

i was importing 2gb hair file to clariise and no problem what so ever. if u export hair from blender it will take ages sudly because blender exporter is a poo. so just wait.
Kramon
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 8:15 pm

Re: The problem of hair import

Unread postby dboude » Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:02 pm

Hi,

.fur cache is a description of hair so it's lighter than an Alembic which store the geometry. As it's lighter, the export is quicker. The problem of exporting the geometry is that it uses just one thread... In Maya at least.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: The problem of hair import

Unread postby Renesmee » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:09 am

Hi,I have a question,I saw this step in this tutorial:load ".fur" cache in a file named "yeti_procedural".

But I don't konw how to get "yeti_procedural".I hope I can get your detailed answer.Because I don't know much about Yeti.

Thank you so much for your help :)

https://youtu.be/hkrp0P9cUO8?list=PLDqg ... CTi8&t=708

https://monosnap.com/file/fBkeMSCRUFIbw ... MssXLiMjO9
Renesmee
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:39 am

Re: The problem of hair import

Unread postby dboude » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:13 am

Hi,

You have to purchase a Yeti License on http://peregrinelabs.com/. Then you will be able to download the Yeti plug-in for Clarisse, install it, install the license and you'll find the yeti procedural node in Clarisse.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: The problem of hair import

Unread postby Renesmee » Sat Feb 09, 2019 5:45 pm

Thank you!!

But I still have a question:Does this "Yeti plugin for Clarisse" support the latest version of Clarisse? If not,Which version of Clarisse does it support?

Sorry for my bad English,I hope you can understand what I mean.
Renesmee
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:39 am

Re: The problem of hair import

Unread postby mdkai » Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:26 pm

Hi
at the moment , the latest Yeti Version is 3.1.6 (released 23/01/19) and it supports Clarisse 3.6 SP4
http://documentation.peregrinelabs.com/ ... 3_1_x.html

So at the current time there is no support yet for any version higher than 3.6 SP4 or even 4.0, unless a new update comes out with newer version support.

A bit off topic to clarisse but still valid i guess:

Generally speaking Yeti is a great grooming plugin which allows for amazing looking hairsetups and the nodal system is very easy to learn. However the plugin is a bit odd, can not be used in the US, the licence system feels super slow and complicated and caching out things is a memory hog in Maya. Besides version 3 only works in Maya 2018 or higher (due to API changes).

I have used a lot of version 2.x in Maya and it's very much a love-hate relationship.

Best tip i can give:
Always cache out in Maya CLI mode, as it is much faster and takes a fraction of the regular memory vs regular Maya, which may crash during a cache due to reaching memory limit.


Lastly on a Clarisse sidenote:
I think many people missed out totally but Clarisse is now able to load in the native Zbrush .fmg (FiberMeshGuide) curves, which allows to export fibermesh as guide curves files !

Cheers
Kai
mdkai
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm


Return to General Discussion