Isotropix Forums

How to use render variables?

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

How to use render variables?

Unread postby jeroendesmet » Tue Feb 05, 2019 2:35 pm

hi,


I've been testing using render variables in a simple example scene (see attached project).
Now, every time I set the variables, and I render to disk using the Render Manager, the path(s) of my 3d-layer(s) get replaced by an absolute path.

So with every new render, I have to fill in new variables - or change paths (using absolute paths) again.

Is this how it's working at the moment? Or am I doing something wrong here?

I'm using this as render-variables:
"$PDIR/renders/$PNAME/beauty."

I was thinking this might be happening because the absolute paths need to be hard-wired in order for the render to save the file to the correct location...or something like that...but it kind of makes the use of these variables pointless. Except if you export/save out a separate project-file JUST for rendering, and thus keep your original file with the variable-paths.

Very interested in hearing any thoughts on this!

Here's the project-file (Clarisse 4.0)
renderVariables.v01.project
(48.96 KiB) Downloaded 8 times



thx
Jeroen
jeroendesmet
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:08 pm

Re: How to use render variables?

Unread postby dcourtois » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:24 pm

Hi Jeroen,

This is definitely a bug (the value of the "Save As" attribute should stay "$PDIR/..." and
not be replaced by the actual path as you guessed)
Would you mind reporting this using the bug tracker ? (https://www.isotropix.com/user/bugtracker)
We'll have a look as soon as possible.

Thanks for reporting this !
Damien
User avatar
dcourtois
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: How to use render variables?

Unread postby jeroendesmet » Tue Feb 05, 2019 7:28 pm

thanks for your quick reply Damien! Bug report is done.

cheers,
Jeroen
jeroendesmet
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 9:08 pm


Return to General Discussion