Isotropix Forums

Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,ideas?

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby KevinC » Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:15 pm

Hello,

There is a regression with the OptiX denoiser that is causing the issue you are describing. It should be fixed in the next release.
And for now there is no workaround.

Sorry for the inconvenience !

Kevin
User avatar
KevinC
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby atnreg » Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:22 pm

Hmm..ok. But then why in some OLD projects (made before 4.0) it works even in SP2b? :shock:

EDIT: Actually, it seems to work in all old projects, only now when I create new project with SP2b, it does not work :o

But even if I create new project with SP1, it works in SP1 but not in SP2b :shock:
Antti
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990wx (32c/64t),64GB RAM,NVIDIA GTX 1080ti,Win10
Clarisse 4.0SP7,Houdini,Blender2.83,Fusion360,Onyx,ZBrush,SubstPnt...
Started: Clarisse 2016/10 (Py 2017/01), Python 2016/11
No business, just fun :)
atnreg
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:20 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby atnreg » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:26 pm

KevinC wrote:There is a regression with the OptiX denoiser that is causing the issue you are describing. It should be fixed in the next release.
And for now there is no workaround.


Is the bug in NVIDIA or Clarisse?
Either way, I hope it will be fixed soon because currently Optix only works in SP1 and it is much slower in rendering, especially in certain cases.

Any ETA for fix?
Antti
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990wx (32c/64t),64GB RAM,NVIDIA GTX 1080ti,Win10
Clarisse 4.0SP7,Houdini,Blender2.83,Fusion360,Onyx,ZBrush,SubstPnt...
Started: Clarisse 2016/10 (Py 2017/01), Python 2016/11
No business, just fun :)
atnreg
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:20 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby KevinC » Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:31 am

Hello,

Well, we didn't ship the latest version of OptiX where it was fixed, so it was our fault.

I can't give you an ETA but it will be available in the next release.

Cheers,
User avatar
KevinC
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby atnreg » Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:12 pm

KevinC wrote:Hello,

Well, we didn't ship the latest version of OptiX where it was fixed, so it was our fault.

I can't give you an ETA but it will be available in the next release.

Cheers,


Ok, thank you for clarification, I'll be waiting... ;)

But still, how is it possible that old projects work? I would understand if any project using Optix would not work in SP2b but all older ones (early this year) I have tried do :shock:
And when I create new project, Optix is broken in SP2b but works in SP1.
But when I took an old (made last new year) project and stripped it to new startup scene, now Optix works in SP2b and no bluescreen if I adjust the Image size :o
I have changed the layout as well so it cannot be some old widget setting or something like that either.

Could you please explain how that is even possible? :mrgreen:
Antti
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990wx (32c/64t),64GB RAM,NVIDIA GTX 1080ti,Win10
Clarisse 4.0SP7,Houdini,Blender2.83,Fusion360,Onyx,ZBrush,SubstPnt...
Started: Clarisse 2016/10 (Py 2017/01), Python 2016/11
No business, just fun :)
atnreg
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:20 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby sam » Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:06 pm

Nothing is magic, it's probably something related to the initialization order.
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby atnreg » Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:33 am

But how the behavior depends on WHEN (which Clarisse version) the project was created, the Optix code cannot be inside the project file?

Projects that are based on startup scene created before 3.6SP7 (even they are edited with newer Clarisse) work but any project created with 3.6SP7 and newer cause the bluescreen problem and also Optix renders transparent (grey checkerboard) image on 4.0SP2,SP2b and work fine up to 4.0SP1.
I don't have earlier Clarisses installed anymore so I cannot tell where the change happens but even though it is not magic, it is very weird and I would like to get some explanation as that seems impossible and yet it happens :)
Antti
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990wx (32c/64t),64GB RAM,NVIDIA GTX 1080ti,Win10
Clarisse 4.0SP7,Houdini,Blender2.83,Fusion360,Onyx,ZBrush,SubstPnt...
Started: Clarisse 2016/10 (Py 2017/01), Python 2016/11
No business, just fun :)
atnreg
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:20 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby atnreg » Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:50 pm

Could you please post a fix to this VERY annoying and fatal bug?

As the result of my tests it SEEMS that if I save any project with SP1+:
-if the original project was made before SP1, Optix works but bluescreen occurs if I try to change the Image resolution
-if the original project was made with SP1+, Optix does not work at all (gray checkerboard when Optix is on). No bluescreen but as it seems to be related to Optix, that is not surprise

If you are not ready to post a new SP yet, then could you please make a hotfix that updates to the latest Optix version? It should be quick to do.
This is really killing most of the fun with Clarisse as I have to be very careful all the time and I cannot use Optix :(

Antti
Antti
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990wx (32c/64t),64GB RAM,NVIDIA GTX 1080ti,Win10
Clarisse 4.0SP7,Houdini,Blender2.83,Fusion360,Onyx,ZBrush,SubstPnt...
Started: Clarisse 2016/10 (Py 2017/01), Python 2016/11
No business, just fun :)
atnreg
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:20 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby dboude » Mon Jul 01, 2019 8:44 am

Hi,

SP3 will be released soon with some fixes inside.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Very weird behavior on starting Clarisse after update,id

Unread postby atnreg » Mon Jul 01, 2019 9:26 am

Ok, thanks :)
Antti
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990wx (32c/64t),64GB RAM,NVIDIA GTX 1080ti,Win10
Clarisse 4.0SP7,Houdini,Blender2.83,Fusion360,Onyx,ZBrush,SubstPnt...
Started: Clarisse 2016/10 (Py 2017/01), Python 2016/11
No business, just fun :)
atnreg
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:20 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion