Page 1 of 1

can I export instances with alembic?

Unread postPosted: Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:17 pm
by kirkr22
Can I export scattered objects as instances, not separate mesh for each? 3dMax supports instances in alembic for example. Does Clarisse now?

Re: can I export instances with alembic?

Unread postPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 9:41 am
by anemoff
Hi,

No. Scattered instances in Clarisse are not yet exported as Alembic instances.
However, when importing a scatterer exported from Clarisse, Clarisse will still de-duplicate data even if the duplicate instances aren't flagged as instances in Alembic. But other 3D DCC apps might not.

Re: can I export instances with alembic?

Unread postPosted: Thu Sep 26, 2019 10:03 pm
by kirkr22
Thanks anemoff, That would definitely be a nudge to buy new version for me since I love how easy scattering huge amount of things can be done in Clarisse.