Isotropix Forums

Optix Denoiser on shadow-Catcher Material

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Optix Denoiser on shadow-Catcher Material

Unread postby Preludian » Thu Jan 23, 2020 10:16 pm

Hi,

can it be that the Optix Denoiser doesn't work on the Shadow-Catcher Material?

I have two layers, on one the object where the denoiser works (now that I have found the trick to enable cuda only for one GPU) and the other one only has the shadow from the shadow catcher. There the Denoiser doesn't work.

Any ideas?

Cheers
Preludian
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: Optix Denoiser on shadow-Catcher Material

Unread postby dboude » Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:00 am

Hi,

Did you try with cdenoise command ? Seem to be a limitation in the 3D view and 3D layers.

Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Optix Denoiser on shadow-Catcher Material

Unread postby Preludian » Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:18 am

Yes, no denoiser works on the shadow-catcher. Unless I'm doing something wrong, but no problems with other 3d layers. Denoise doesn't even work with the shadow-catcher in the 3d view.
Preludian
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: Optix Denoiser on shadow-Catcher Material

Unread postby dboude » Fri Jan 24, 2020 12:09 pm

It's a limitation. Optix denoiser wasn't trained to denoise shadows passes. We have no control over that as Optix denoiser is a black box.

Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Optix Denoiser on shadow-Catcher Material

Unread postby Preludian » Fri Jan 24, 2020 12:33 pm

Oh, ok, so any ideas how to save time on cutting down sampling&shading quality? I did blur the layer in the post, but the initial rendering was a killer for the rendering time and it was my fault to have not better checked the time for these extra images, before pressing the render button for the animation.

But is there a way to add blur to a 3d layer as a filter? The usefulness of a shadow catcher raises and falls with the time it uses to render in relation to the normal rendering.
Preludian
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: Optix Denoiser on shadow-Catcher Material

Unread postby dboude » Fri Jan 24, 2020 2:15 pm

Yes, you can add a blur filter to your layer but I recommend you to do that in compositing. If you are catching shadows only and not the global illumination make sure to assign a diffuse material to everything except the object that catches the shadows to speed up the render. No need to evaluate everything when catching a shadow, just the illumination.

Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Optix Denoiser on shadow-Catcher Material

Unread postby Preludian » Fri Jan 24, 2020 3:11 pm

Ok, thanks for the tipp.
Have a nice weekend.

Cheers
Preludian
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: Optix Denoiser on shadow-Catcher Material

Unread postby dboude » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:47 am

You're welcome ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am


Return to General Discussion