Page 1 of 1

Scattered trees appear to be floating

Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:36 am
by kai_wheatley
As the subject says, my scattered trees appear to be floating in certain areas, and the trees also go beyond the geometry area. The point cloud appears to be fine. I thought maybe it was because the pivots of my trees were off, but I set all of them to be at center ground, and problem still persists.

I added some photos to illustrate the issue.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Re: Scattered trees appear to be floating

Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 6:34 am
by RayCaster
you could lower y value of the tree to bury it in the ground a little, not sure if thats the correct solution but it will fix the issue.

Re: Scattered trees appear to be floating

Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 12:04 pm
by ayanik
Either raise the subdivisions of the underlying PolyGrid or scatter the trees on a flat polygrid without Displacement and offset the trees Y position in the scatterer by using the displacement map of your terrain. The 2nd method has the most accuracy.

Re: Scattered trees appear to be floating

Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 12:08 pm
by Akam
from your first picture it looks like you moved your scatter input tree. Look if it is centered to zero on coordinate system.

Re: Scattered trees appear to be floating

Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 6:47 pm
by RayCaster
Can the trees use the target surface constraint? if not whats it used for?

Re: Scattered trees appear to be floating

Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 7:25 pm
by kai_wheatley
Akam got it right. I knew it was something stupid like that! What a dummy I am. I moved the trees away from centre just to check that the materials were being assigned, didn't think to put them back.

Thanks to everyone who replied! Akam's answer fixed the problem if anyone has it in the future!

Re: Scattered trees appear to be floating

Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 11:17 pm
by Akam
No problem Kai, that happened to me also. You have to change your way of thinking in Clarisse. Since Clarisse is very clever with object-management that every object gets only loaded once it doesn't matter how many copys, references or combiners you have from your objects.
So you can have a lookdev context with your tree where it doesn't matter to move it around and a scene context with reference of the tree so that every change you do in texture gets reflected to tree in scene.

Re: Scattered trees appear to be floating

Unread postPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:54 am
by dboude
RayCaster wrote:Can the trees use the target surface constraint? if not whats it used for?


Hi,

The surface constraint is to constrain an object to a surface, even if this surface is moving ;)

Cheers

Re: Scattered trees appear to be floating

Unread postPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 1:39 pm
by mdkai
kai_wheatley wrote:Akam got it right. I knew it was something stupid like that! What a dummy I am. I moved the trees away from centre just to check that the materials were being assigned, didn't think to put them back.

Thanks to everyone who replied! Akam's answer fixed the problem if anyone has it in the future!


A great example of how different this works compared to old workflows ;)
if you want to check a material either go into a different context or simply make a new one and work there ;)
It's just that simple!