Page 1 of 1

Volume displacement?

Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:34 am
by kai_wheatley
Hello it's me again, lol.

Just wondering if it's possible to add some displacement to a volume? I created a simple volume box, and added a noise to a displacement shader, but it is not doing anything. Basically I am trying to create some simple mist without having to go into Houdini and bring in some vdbs. Would be great if I could just add some noise to the volumes directly inside Clarisse!

Thanks!

Re: Volume displacement?

Unread postPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:02 am
by ayanik
Clarisse can't displace volumes unfortunately. But I am not sure if that's what you are asking for.

You can displace a geometry and use the Volume Surface node to turn it into a volume. This volume like other volumes you can tweak the density using a texture like a Fractal Noise in the volume material density attribute.

If you want some scene wide fog you can add a Volume Box and tweak the density attribute with a texture like I mentioned above. You can also change the density along an axis with a curve in the Volume Box settings.

Re: Volume displacement?

Unread postPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:48 am
by kai_wheatley
Yes, that is what I was asking. I've got scene wide fog, but also wanted to add smokey misty around certain areas. Thanks for the tip on displacing geo and turning it into volume, I will try that! If not, off to Houdini I go ;)