Isotropix Forums

Displacement viewport performance

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Displacement viewport performance

Unread postby JJoelBBK » Sat Jun 06, 2020 1:00 am

Hello everybody,

why when i apply a dispalcement to a huge scene, the displacement have to calculate before for the viewport?

isnt the displacement is suppose to be rendered only when i hit the render button?

If the displacement in my scene have to be computed in the viewport and also in the renderer i will lose a lot of time.

Can someone explain to me how can i fixe that please?

thanks you
JJoelBBK
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:55 am

Re: Displacement viewport performance

Unread postby esmith » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:19 am

You can use a Displacement Deformer, directly on the objects geometry, instead of going through the Material Linker. In which case, you can then bake that displacement down to an object so there is no calculation required. I like to use straight geometry whenever I can, so i find myself doing this often.

Just Deform Displace your geometry, and then place that single piece of geometry into a context, then its' a simple as File > Export
Attachments
Capture.JPG
User avatar
esmith
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 4:11 pm

Re: Displacement viewport performance

Unread postby isoyann2 » Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:55 am

There is no concept like "render button" in Clarisse. The software is designed like a real time 3d engine, everything is live. In a tradictionnal 3d software, you see a simplified representation of your 3d world, using a dedicated openGL renderer optimized for realtime, then you hit the render button and everything is sent to the renderer, and reprocessed for the high quality final output. In Clarisse there is a unique engine for both display and final. What you see in the 3d view is the same raytracing engine used for the final output, with a few settings enabled to speedup interactiviy (low AA, simplified lighting and shaders, but real, hd geometry with displacement etc...).
The best way to avoid clarisse spending time with displacement is to use the "bump only" displacement mode.
isoyann2
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 3:28 pm

Re: Displacement viewport performance

Unread postby dboude » Mon Jun 08, 2020 8:07 am

As isoyann said, what you see in the 3d view is already the render. So the displacement will be computed just one time. The first time you display the geometry. Make a try, apply the displacement, see it in the 3D view then switch to the image view. Displacement is already there ;)

Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am


Return to General Discussion