Isotropix Forums

where is the shading oversampling attribute?

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

where is the shading oversampling attribute?

Unread postby lejbs » Wed Mar 10, 2021 2:07 am

Hi,
I can't seem to find the shading oversampling attribute that is discussed in the sampling demystified video.
https://www.isotropix.com/learn/tutoria ... emystified

Can some one point me to it?

Cheers,
JB
lejbs
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: where is the shading oversampling attribute?

Unread postby aaute » Wed Mar 10, 2021 9:25 am

Hi,

you can find it on your path tracer under the anti aliasing category.

Image

Cheers
Aymeric
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
aaute
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 11:59 am

Re: where is the shading oversampling attribute?

Unread postby lejbs » Wed Mar 10, 2021 9:52 am

ohh I don't have it, what version of Clarisse did you guys release this feature for? I am using 4.0 sp6
lejbs
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: where is the shading oversampling attribute?

Unread postby aaute » Wed Mar 10, 2021 10:49 am

Sorry, I am always referring to the latest sp available :) with the latest and greatest.
Now we are at 4.0 sp15

Cheers
Aymeric
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
aaute
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 11:59 am

Re: where is the shading oversampling attribute?

Unread postby RayCaster » Mon Mar 15, 2021 11:49 pm

it really impacts render times for not much improvement(or none I can afford), is there a good way to use it, eg have lower settings and use it to quickly swap render settings rather than inputting numbers, so that for example it was 9spp(or16) when sampling was 100%, is it best used with static or adaptive settings?
RayCaster
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: where is the shading oversampling attribute?

Unread postby sam » Tue Mar 16, 2021 7:15 am

Hi there,

Regarding Shading Oversampling, the feature has been in Clarisse since 1.0. If you don't find it, then someone may have hidden the attribute at startup.

@Raycaster: I've already made a tutorial explaining all that https://www.isotropix.com/learn/tutoria ... emystified
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1660
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: where is the shading oversampling attribute?

Unread postby RayCaster » Tue Mar 16, 2021 2:21 pm

Thanks Sam, I have seen it, I just think of it as yet another multiplier, but there are so many multipliers in the render setting I'm wondering about equivalence, ie if you can get the same quality boost by not using the overall oversampling attribute, or using it to switch from draft settings to good enough. Also more shading quality settings in the Image pane, I suppose that could be used to switch between lo & hi settings.(sorry if you already answered this in the video, it'll all sink in eventually, even if the way I express it sounds like gibberish ) & also the related Quality vs Resolution, a higher rez image with lower settings might look better than a smaller one with hi settings.

Watching the video again, the other multipliers are more importance guides, and the overall shading sampling can only go so low at the zero position.
RayCaster
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:02 pm


Return to General Discussion
cron