Isotropix Forums

Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby Fredyuanvfx » Mon Mar 15, 2021 5:29 pm

Hey yo:


I wanna use z depth for dof in post(nuke),how can i get a z pass without anti-Aliasing.?

use the The default depth pass,i get a bad egde of the object.

Fred
Fredyuanvfx
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby Fredyuanvfx » Tue Mar 16, 2021 8:02 am

updated a exr file.[img][code2=][/code2][/img]
Attachments
TestZ_v001.exr00001.exr.zip
(1.97 MiB) Downloaded 63 times
2021-03-16_14-55-51.jpg
Fredyuanvfx
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby aaute » Wed Mar 17, 2021 9:27 am

Hi,

I tested your EXR in nuke with ZDefocus and I didn't see any issue

Image

If you go extreme with your defocus, the low resolution of your image doesn't help (640x480) and Nuke doesn't have enough information to interpolate correctly and generate this step effect.

Cheers.
Aymeric
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
aaute
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 11:59 am

Re: Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby Fredyuanvfx » Thu Mar 18, 2021 3:51 am

Hey aaute :
Thanks for your reply.Can you put the focal point on the cube.Then you can see the bad edge.
Fredyuanvfx
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby aaute » Thu Mar 18, 2021 9:22 am

Image
I don't see your problem, only the low resolution of your image.

Try to render in 2K to check if you still have the same issue.

Cheers
Aymeric
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
aaute
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 11:59 am

Re: Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby Fredyuanvfx » Thu Mar 18, 2021 11:32 am

Thank you for reply,aaute.

That’s wired, your pic seems ok.
I still have the problem . I updated the snapshota, and the ZDefocus seting.(nuke 10)
Also updated a 2k version.
PLZ take a look.
Attachments
2021-03-18_18-16-30.jpg
Fredyuanvfx
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby Fredyuanvfx » Thu Mar 18, 2021 11:59 am

Fredyuanvfx
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby aaute » Thu Mar 18, 2021 3:27 pm

The last example you are displaying are still the 640x480.
I don't understand why in your image you also have these 2 black spots in the back.
Are you sure you don't have a merge or an alpha inherited form another pass ?

I try with your 2K image and don't have any issue.

Try maybe to deactivate the use GPU on the Z defocus node to see if the problem come from here.

Cheers.
Aymeric
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
aaute
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 11:59 am

Re: Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby Fredyuanvfx » Fri Mar 19, 2021 6:18 am

Hey aaute:

I upload a video to show the problom,https://www.dropbox.com/s/q5jfh5vodv2p956/Z_compare_20210319.mp4?dl=0 .
Still have the egde artifact.
I upload the 2k res exr files, one from arnold render,one from clarisse.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j44wtmv2sog9n ... 1.exr?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/79mq9ntqa97ze ... 1.exr?dl=0
PlZ take a look,Thx


Fred
Fredyuanvfx
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Z-Depth pass problem in post (nuke)

Unread postby aaute » Fri Mar 19, 2021 11:40 am

If you want your depth without anti-aliasing

Duplicate your current layer3d and name it utility.
Select utility and choose a new path_tracer where you set anti Aliasing sample count to 1.
In utility you can also set the 16 or 32 bit for your exr and to output only one channel.

Cheers
Aymeric
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
aaute
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2020 11:59 am


Return to General Discussion