Isotropix Forums

Texture map differences local (windows)/ farm (linux)

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Texture map differences local (windows)/ farm (linux)

Unread postby Watchyato » Tue Oct 12, 2021 5:14 pm

Hi All,

We seem to have run into a slight issue with our normal maps when rendering locally (windows) and rendering on our farm(linux), I've included a test scene which includes test renders of both scenarios.

The issue seems to be that the normal map renders very sharp on the linux machines but soft on the windows machines (see images below)

We are using clarisse 5, local renders using interactive clarisse and the farm uses cnode. I would note that when the farm renders on a windows machine, it renders the same as a local render.
Attachments
farm.png
farm render
local.png
local render
Watchyato
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 05, 2021 11:40 am

Re: Texture map differences local (windows)/ farm (linux)

Unread postby Watchyato » Tue Oct 12, 2021 5:39 pm

On further inspection it may be the displacement map that causes the issue, here are my image below normals disabled and only displacement on
Attachments
local_no_normal.png
local no normal
farm_no_normal.png
farm no normal
Watchyato
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 05, 2021 11:40 am

Re: Texture map differences local (windows)/ farm (linux)

Unread postby Watchyato » Tue Oct 12, 2021 5:51 pm

Looks like the issue is coming from using adaptive displacement, the issue is resolved when switching to uniform
Watchyato
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 05, 2021 11:40 am

Re: Texture map differences local (windows)/ farm (linux)

Unread postby Lucas » Wed Oct 13, 2021 10:10 am

Hey Watchyato,

It's nice if you found a workaround, but I couldn't replicate the issue. Could I have your simple scene ans the maps associated ?

Thanks,
Lucas Nadal
Isotropix
Technical Artist
User avatar
Lucas
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 10:06 am

Re: Texture map differences local (windows)/ farm (linux)

Unread postby Watchyato » Wed Oct 13, 2021 4:19 pm

My apologies i thought i had added it, here it is.

I would also note we have sorted the issue out by upgrading to Clarisse 5.0-sp4, still very strange behaviour none the less.
Watchyato
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 05, 2021 11:40 am


Return to General Discussion