Isotropix Forums

Exporting property values as strings of different lengths

Clarisse Scripting related topics

Re: Exporting property values as strings of different length

Unread postby anemoff » Wed Mar 27, 2019 12:28 pm

Yes, that might be the problem. In fact, some of the IOHelpers functions delete and re-create existing properties when editing them. This might corrupt the properties that were previously created with the ResourceProperty API.
I will do some tests and come back to you.

In the meantime, you might want to create the properties with IOHelpers first, then using the ResourceProperty last, if that's possible.
Anthony Nemoff
Isotropix
R&D Engineer
User avatar
anemoff
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:10 am

Re: Exporting property values as strings of different length

Unread postby jboissinot » Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:18 am

Hi,

Yes I do think this is the issue we're dealing with indeed.

I did some tests with creating the ResourceProperty properties after the IOHelpers ones but this ends up simply deleting the IOHelpers properties.

I could do further testing but this is what I found out so far.

Thanks,
Jeremy
jboissinot
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:36 pm

Re: Exporting property values as strings of different length

Unread postby anemoff » Tue Apr 09, 2019 5:59 pm

Hi Jeremy,

Is it possible for you to use exclusively the IOHelpers? Let me know if you face any problems or limitations with the existing functions.

I think both ways of creating properties (ResourceProperty vs IOhelpers) are actually incompatible.
I'll do some more tests and come back to you.
Anthony Nemoff
Isotropix
R&D Engineer
User avatar
anemoff
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:10 am

Re: Exporting property values as strings of different length

Unread postby jboissinot » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:55 pm

Hi Anthony,

We do actually use the IOHelpers only for exporting point clouds to Houdini, which works fine.

The only reason why we use both is for exporting to Katana as we haven't found a way to export values as double yet.
See the following topic link, which you're aware of actually:
https://forum.isotropix.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=5272

Regarding the Clarisse crash on file open due to the use of both APIs, I haven't actually been able to reproduce the issue. As such, I wonder if this was simply fixed in v4 SP1, or maybe it was because some scenes were built in v3.6 and then opened in v4.

But this seems to be more stable now as I was quite surprised to not longer see Clarisse crashing.
That being said, I'll let you know if this happens again.

Thanks,
Jeremy
jboissinot
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:36 pm

Re: Exporting property values as strings of different length

Unread postby anemoff » Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:10 pm

OK, good to know that you don't have crashes for now.
Anthony Nemoff
Isotropix
R&D Engineer
User avatar
anemoff
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:10 am

Previous

Return to Scripting
cron