Isotropix Forums

The problem with the shader name lost after importing the AB

Clarisse related tips and tricks

Re: The problem with the shader name lost after importing th

Unread postby mdkai » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:14 am

Well i guess since they discontinued the entire plugin, they won't do that and tell you to get the source code and recompile it yourself.. problem in Linux is there is much more "dependency hell" and that makes it a bit cumbersome.
But since that seems the only solution, we have to do it...
mdkai
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm

Re: The problem with the shader name lost after importing th

Unread postby mdkai » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:08 pm

I was giving this another try, and found a solution to export all abc files with the related SG in Maya.

One of the google alembic user threads mentioned a workaround. By adding the extra attribute "SubDivisionMesh" (boolean) to the shape node. It is irrelevant to tick the attribute at all, just have it.
During export, tick the "Create face sets" option on the alembic exporter dialoge.

When loaded into Clarisse, all maya SGs are preserved with their respective name :)
It is a rather easy hack, can also be done with a script for all geo items.
mdkai
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm

Re: The problem with the shader name lost after importing th

Unread postby sam » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:55 pm

Thanks for sharing the trick!
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1145
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: The problem with the shader name lost after importing th

Unread postby mdkai » Fri Jul 06, 2018 1:41 pm

So after having still no solution on Linux CentOS we compiled our own version (which was pretty crazy , it required 10GB of dependencies)

So everyone who needs that exocortex plugin running on Linux Centos 7 and Maya 2017 here it is:
Maya 2017 CentOs7 Exocortex crate

Cheers
mdkai
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm

Previous

Return to Tips and Tricks