Isotropix Forums

z depth inf problem in Clarisse 3.5

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

z depth inf problem in Clarisse 3.5

Unread postby qinyao » Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:00 am

IMG_4979.JPG
Hi,
I have a problem about the depth aov channel. When I use Clarisse 3.0,everything goes well. But in Clarisse 3.5, when I render a huge scene, in image view, I can get the full range value of the z depth. After save to disk with exr, it lose the furthest values. It change to inf, could someone tell me how can I solve this?
IMG_4979.JPG
qinyao
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:29 am

Re: z depth inf problem in Clarisse 3.5

Unread postby abarriot » Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:43 pm

Hello,

Thanks for the report.
We have reproduced your issue and created an ID.(#7422)
There is two workaround solutions.
You can either create an Aov if you use an Aov Store on which you can set a Texture zDepth, or you can set this texture on a material "matte", that you set his on the attribute "Override Material" of a layer.

Sorry for the inconvenience.
Regards,

Ps : When you find an issue like this one, could you please use the new bug tracker that you can find here : https://www.isotropix.com/user/bugtracker-new.
Anaïs Barriot
Isotropix
Clarisse QA
User avatar
abarriot
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:48 am

Re: z depth inf problem in Clarisse 3.5

Unread postby qinyao » Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:15 am

In this case, I use a abc camera for rendering. If I create a camera from current viewport in Clarisse. Make a parent constraint between new camera and abc camera. I can get the values of z depth by the new camera. Is there any probility when Clarisse reading abc cameras lose some informations??
qinyao
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 11:29 am

Re: z depth inf problem in Clarisse 3.5

Unread postby dboude » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:34 am

Hi,

The bug appears even with Clarisse camera. The bug is tracked (#7422). Sorry for the inconvenience.

Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 995
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: z depth inf problem in Clarisse 3.5

Unread postby shadow92 » Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:23 pm

dboude wrote:Hi,

The bug appears even with Clarisse camera. The bug is tracked (#7422). Sorry for the inconvenience.

Cheers


Hey, Im wondering if this bug was by any chance fixed 2 years later? Im still experiencing it with Clarisse 4.0. I have a quite large-scale scene, rendered through imported alembic camera and while in image view the depth channel seems allright - I can see entire distance, in Nuke its clamped somewhere in half and outputs inf value instead of color

By the way, mentioned workaround with mapping depth texture is nice, however quite useless for compositing when you want to add physically accurate DoF

Would be nice to know what to do to not experience this issue anymore??

Thanks
shadow92
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:46 am

Re: z depth inf problem in Clarisse 3.5

Unread postby sam » Sat Jul 13, 2019 2:19 pm

Hi there,
Just use 4.0 SP3. Depth channel have been cranked up to 32 bit
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm


Return to General Discussion