Isotropix Forums

Cryptomatte

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby dboude » Wed Feb 05, 2020 1:25 pm

Yes, it might be an issue in Nuke.

Image

Works fine here.

I have no clue what happens on your side. Sorry.

Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby jsmr » Mon Feb 10, 2020 2:51 am

Hi there,

just to jump in with this 4 sp1 renders the cryptomatts just fine, but in 4.4 and 4.5 it only seems to work in the object layers, and I'm not getting anything even though it's outputting what looks like the correct layers. I can take the same scene and render them out of different versions and get different results in nuke - with it getting worse in newer versions. If I rebuild the scene in 4.5b and render, none of the cryptomattes seem to work. I can send you over scene files and example exrs if you aren't seeing the same thing on your side? Cheers!
jsmr
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:19 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby dboude » Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:54 am

Yes, please send us a scene that doesn't work.

Thank you
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby jsmr » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:20 am

Here you go - this was an example that was passed onto me. Please take a look and let me know if you are getting these images to work in nuke/ cryptomatte and if you can render from the scene file in a way that works. Cheers!
Attachments
Clarisse_Cryptomatte_tests.zip
example scene file and rendered images - try them out in nuke and hopefully you should see the same behaviour
(1.14 MiB) Downloaded 4 times
jsmr
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:19 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby dboude » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:25 am

Thank you.

I tested both images, and cryptomatte works well on both. In asset, material or object mode... But I don't have the latest version of it.

I will try with the latest.

Cheers

Edit : Ok, it doesn't work on the latest version of cryptomatte...
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby dboude » Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:29 am

After some investigation, I saw that the manifest is needed for version 1.2.4 of cryptomatte and above.
(And btw only the ASSET layer work here, not the object one... weird)

So for your case, you have two solutions :
- write the manifest for the cryptomatte layers you want to use (you can set it in the cryptomatte sub-pixel filter attributes)
- downgrade cryptomatte version to 1.2.3

We will investigate more to see if we can provide a fix or if the fix should come from psyop.

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby jsmr » Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:36 pm

awesome! I'm glad you were able to replicate it. I'll pass on that info, and hopefully that can get people moving with it until your update. Thanks again!
jsmr
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:19 am

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby sam » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:07 pm

Actually this looks like a bug in Cryptomatte > 1.2.3.
In order to work in 1.2.4 and above you can add an empty manifest metadata entry set to {}. (We managed to make 1.2.4 and 1.2.5 work that way). This is not normal since it shouldn't need that useless metadata entry to work. They should fix it on their end.
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1463
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: Cryptomatte

Unread postby dboude » Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:52 am

FYI.

It was fixed by Psyop

https://github.com/Psyop/Cryptomatte/issues/124

Cheers ;)
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Previous

Return to General Discussion