Isotropix Forums

Changing Project path(set)

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Changing Project path(set)

Unread postby Dravid93 » Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:58 am

Hello!
I am having some issues. Is there any way like "maya project set" or any other project set in clarisse? Cause, when I change my folder from one drive to another all my scene assets are referencing the previous drive. I re-sync my assets, but it didn't help.
So, It would be great if somebody help me out from this problem.

Thank you.
Dravid93
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Changing Project path(set)

Unread postby dboude » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:30 am

Hi,

Yes, you can use variables. like $PDIR or $CDIR. PDIR is the project directory when CDIR is the content directory you can set in the preferences under the project page.

And you can use the path manager to search and replace some paths or directly replace with a variable.

Cheers !
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Changing Project path(set)

Unread postby mdkai » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:07 am

If you never worked before with those variables here is a quick example i usually give artists:

Whenever you save a file for the first time, you get two things:
1. A scene name
2. A path where that file is saved

i.e.: lets say
mnt/projects/projectB/clarisse/assets/myAsset_b1_v001.project
is where you have you file saved, then mnt/projects/projectB/clarisse/assets/ is the global path to the file
and myAsset_b1_v001 is that given name.

Now you create a texture folder on the server, like
mnt/projects/projectB/clarisse/assets/newTextures/
In Clarisse you can replace that scene root part with
$PDIR/newTextures

$PDIR is that part which will always guide to the correct location because it knows where the project is saved. As a variable, this can change to any path you like..
So when all content is located beneath the root level of that scene file, you can use the variable to always have working paths.

This also works for the special content directory $CDIR, which is some sort of reserved place you can utilise (either as "that one big studio library", or dynamic as the "current project folder).
There is also a temp folder as well so you can use that as well ;)
mdkai
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm


Return to General Discussion