Isotropix Forums

Group not visible in 3d view?

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby ambassador1 » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:38 pm

I haven't ran into the issue, as I setup things a bit different, but another artist is unable to see "groups" in the 3d viewport. Is there a specific reason why this is? Is this something we can have the ability to toggle on and off for display in the 3d viewport? I nearly always use combiners, unless light linking, driving occlusion, etc, then I use groups. Just curious why its the way it is, and not visible in the 3d viewport, thanks.
ambassador1
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:40 pm

Re: Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby mdkai » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:08 am

I think visibility of groups are driven by the display selection mode. If set to "group", it will explicitly show that in the viewport.
In context mode, any group outside of its content will show nothing.

Left is context mode, right is object mode.
groupVis.PNG


Additional:
If the group filter "scene item" is missing, it will not resolve the items and show nothing (also in the "result filter" list).

Thats all i can think of at the moment..

Cheers
Kai
mdkai
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm

Re: Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby ambassador1 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:21 am

Yes, I am aware of the display of a single "group" when set to view groups. The issue the artist is having involves multiple groups.
ambassador1
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:40 pm

Re: Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby mdkai » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:31 am

In this case it may help to provide a sample scene or screenshot ?

Possible errors can sum up in complexity, from empty/changed alembic files, wrong frames or abc frame offset, reload issues, or material overrides/ clip maps etc ..
Do they render properly ? Is the list of scene items filled ?

But in general there is no filter preventing groups from showing up if the content is set correctly...
mdkai
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm

Re: Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby ambassador1 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:36 am

A simple scene setup will show you what happens, no need for example scenes or over complication of the question

e.g. , New scene, two contexts, sphere and cube in one (context A), "group" with sphere, "group" with cube from other context in the group inside the second context (context B). 3d view set to context on the context with the groups (context B). Notice, nothing is visible. You can set the display to group, but you only get one of the groups, not both, set it to context, nothing is visible. You essentially already made the scene above in the image, the question is why cant we see multiple groups when set to context view, but we can see multiple combiners when set to context view.
ambassador1
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:40 pm

Re: Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby dboude » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:03 am

Hi,

When the display selection mode is set to Group you see the content of the group and not the group itself. When you are in context mode, Clarisse displays the content of the context, as groups are lists, you can't see them. If you want to see the content of multiple groups, you have to group them before and set the display to Group.

That can be enhanced on our side by displaying the content of multiple selected groups.

Cheers !
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby sam » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:40 pm

It is clearly a bug. We should be able to display a multi-selection of groups when the 3D View is set to Group or Object. Would you mind reporting the bug?
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby ambassador1 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:42 pm

dboude wrote:Hi,


That can be enhanced on our side by displaying the content of multiple selected groups.

Cheers !


Got it, as suspected, just a current limitation/bug of how groups can display in the 3d view. I personally always used groups as lists, but artists work in different ways for particular reasons, I will report this as a bug. It would be nice to have the display option to enable/disable them to display when context view is enabled, when you have multiple groups...as an additional option.
ambassador1
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:40 pm

Re: Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby sam » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:44 pm

Well in Context mode, groups won't be displayed because it won't make anysense as they aren't rendered. However in Object/Group mode yes the 3D View should support multi selection.
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: Group not visible in 3d view?

Unread postby mdkai » Wed Sep 12, 2018 6:09 pm

The idea of a "group" is very much different to other packages.
Clarisse uses groups more like a selection set ...this is also why a group has no transform and thus it is pretty irrelevant where the group node itself is located ..it's content is therefore not part of any context and thus not displayed when using "context" as viewfilter.
mdkai
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:24 pm

Next

Return to General Discussion