Isotropix Forums

how to render grass properly?

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Re: how to render grass properly?

Unread postby vandam » Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:09 pm

while we're on the subject of CPUs - does Clarisse take advantage of AVX instructions?
vandam
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: how to render grass properly?

Unread postby sam » Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:58 pm

Not in any major ways. This tends to complexify the writing of shaders if done properly. Then the real benefit is kinda lost in secondary rays unless doing ray sorting which we don't.
Sam Assadian
Isotropix
CEO/Founder
User avatar
sam
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:33 pm

Re: how to render grass properly?

Unread postby Kramon » Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:43 pm

kirkr22 wrote:I have pretty old 3770k. Threadripper would be nice indeed. Together with taxes It's still too expensive although and worth of several super cool video cards.


What? i just checked prices on amazon.
RTX 2080ti founder edition cost 1669 euro on amazon
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX (32 cores) cost 1845 euro on amazon
Kramon
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 8:15 pm

Re: how to render grass properly?

Unread postby kirkr22 » Sat Apr 20, 2019 5:46 pm

well, I see $1,097.50 for RTX and $1,699.99 for 2990WX. It's on amazon where I would have yet to pay taxes extra for importing. I even don't know how much. In our local stores 2990 turns to be exactly twice of RTX And to be honest, RTX is a bit beyond of what I meant. I have GF 980ti now and Octane still renders super fast on it
Also with thread reaper you actually have to buy a whole new system , new RAM , new MB
kirkr22
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:27 am

Previous

Return to General Discussion