Isotropix Forums

Megascans asset and performance

General Discussion about Isotropix and CG related topics

Megascans asset and performance

Unread postby cedmen » Sun May 10, 2020 1:20 am

Hi there,

I am having very long render time with megascans assets.
I am trying to do a meadow made of green, dry grass and plants. Megascans works great for close up but creating a drone height shot it's an other story.

All the opacity maps are plugged in clip map and they dropping render time like a lot for mediocre layout.

I have been play with the fur generator with more success creating multiple level on clumps usung one blade but realised there only so much you can do for creating different species.

I wish megascans would be full polygons and no opacity to clip geos.
Now I am thinking those good assets are not very useful for Clarisse. I will be back in Maya modeling plants but it's such a waste of time.

Anyone has tips how to work this around.
Thanks
cedmen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 10:38 pm

Re: Megascans asset and performance

Unread postby dboude » Mon May 11, 2020 9:28 am

Hi,

You can use the geo and the maps to rebuild and retopo the geo as high poly ?

My 2 cents

Cheers
Démian
Isotropix
Technical Artist - Clarisse Specialist
User avatar
dboude
 
Posts: 1400
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:51 am

Re: Megascans asset and performance

Unread postby ambassador1 » Tue May 12, 2020 4:20 am

megascans has great assets, you cannot expect it to work out of the box for wide shots, thats where you come in with creating kits from it, working on layout, color variations, etc. Its a non megascans issue, and more of a layout issue on your end. If you just generically scatter the same megascans asset for a ultra wide shot, its going to look repatative and un-natural. The long render times may be from a different issue, images would help if you are seeking tips on that.
ambassador1
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:40 pm


Return to General Discussion